PDA

View Full Version : Mach 3 using laptop and usb



drftnr34
21-08-2011, 01:54 PM
Hi

This is my first post . I am trying to find out if there is any way that i can run my mach 3 software from my laptop through a usb/parallel bidirectional lead . Or is there a lead or a circuit board that i can buy or make so that i can

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Jonathan
21-08-2011, 05:00 PM
A usb to parallel port adapter wont work. You need something like this:

http://www.planet-cnc.com/

Or:

http://www.zappautomation.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=15&products_id=202
(10% off there at the moment...)

As you can see it's an expensive way to do it. You save by not needing mach3, but then arguably that's not a saving as you could use the free EMC2 instead.

A PCI parallel port in the laptop may work ... not sure.

m_c
21-08-2011, 07:57 PM
If you want to use USB and Mach, SmoothStepper from www.warp9td.com (http://www.warp9td.com) is another option.

AdCNC
21-08-2011, 09:08 PM
And Speaking of SmoothStepper i have one that i don't use with extra add-on board for it! if you or anyone else is interested ?

Jonathan
21-08-2011, 09:15 PM
And Speaking of SmoothStepper i have one that i don't use with extra add-on board for it! if you or anyone else is interested ?

I'm interested in it, 4MHz step frequency is lucrative...

PM sent :wink:

m_c
21-08-2011, 09:27 PM
Another option is the KFLOP from http://dynomotion.com/, which has a Mach3 plugin, however it's nearly $100 more than the SmoothStepper.

paul_m
09-07-2015, 05:38 PM
i use ethernet socket as i was advised there is less interference and it is just better by someone with more knowledge than me.