PDA

View Full Version : Touch Probe



luke11cnc
03-09-2011, 01:48 PM
after reading a posting on steel framed router with regards to a 3D probe
I was curious to see one working and found this rather good site but is there any better out there and who? makes them and sells them
http://www.indoor.flyer.co.uk/probe.htm

I been on wildhorse innovations but $115.00 seams a bit steep ??

Has any one on this web site made one yet and how well dose it work ???
James

luke11cnc
03-09-2011, 01:54 PM
how hard would it be to make a home switch like this one seen on you tube ??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ku1RUaa8M7Y&feature=related

James

Ricardoco
03-09-2011, 02:16 PM
after reading a posting on steel framed router with regards to a 3D probe
I was curious to see one working and found this rather good site but is there any better out there and who? makes them and sells them
http://www.indoor.flyer.co.uk/probe.htm

I been on wildhorse innovations but $115.00 seams a bit steep ??

Has any one on this web site made one yet and how well dose it work ???
James

There are many plans out there and im sure people on here have made them, they are a simple device but are very very usefull, why dont you make one as your first project when you have finished building, if you get stuck for plans PM me and i will design one for you to build...

Ricardoco
03-09-2011, 02:19 PM
how hard would it be to make a home switch like this one seen on you tube ??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ku1RUaa8M7Y&feature=related

James


Here is how mine is designed and built...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYunX1KHX3c&NR=1

That is the basic design.. Simplzzzz

Ricardoco
03-09-2011, 07:36 PM
theres one here a bit cheaper.looks like a peice of .... but if it works http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/290599760016?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649
i aim to get one at some point(not the above) but i,ll need an A is for apple type tutorial to work it :lol: are there any tutorials for a begginer?

This is where i got my inspiration. If you do make one then do a blog on here for it wont you..

http://fadedbits.com/2011/02/touchprobe/

Jonathan
03-09-2011, 08:52 PM
theres one here a bit cheaper.looks like a peice of .... but if it works http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/290599760016?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

Looks expensive for what it is - not even got a proper stylus. I'll make one when I get round to it... might make a few if they go for that much :idea:


i aim to get one at some point(not the above) but i,ll need an A is for apple type tutorial to work it :lol: are there any tutorials for a begginer?

I'm sure we'd work it out soon enough. You'll want to probe the edges of the part first so that you only need to the height probing over the extent. Otherwise you waste hours probing the bed.

stirling
04-09-2011, 09:03 AM
You'll want to probe the edges of the part first so that you only need to the height probing over the extent. Otherwise you waste hours probing the bed.

My freebie probing software project for Mach might be of interest. http://www.razordance.co.uk/probe25D.htm. The probe I made when I first wrote the software took me about half an hour to make - it was pretty crappy but surprisingly accurate.

Andre did some better vids than mine. You can see them via this link http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,4352.msg97649.html#msg97649

Cheers

Ian

Jonathan
04-09-2011, 10:45 AM
My freebie probing software project for Mach might be of interest. http://www.razordance.co.uk/probe25D.htm

I read that a few weeks ago but couldn't find the link ... thanks. It looks like a good idea, the only problem I can see is if the height of the edge of the part you are probing varies significantly it's not accurate.

stirling
04-09-2011, 11:40 AM
the only problem I can see is if the height of the edge of the part you are probing varies significantly it's not accurate.
Not accurate my be a poor choice of words - it's as accurate as your system in that it'll give you the edge at the height you probe. Sure, some shapes may not lend themselves to this process as well as others - welcome to the art of probing and every 3D analysis system there is, whether it be laser, contact or even MRI. None can cope with every shape and material. Like everything else, you mix and match and choose the right tool for the job.

Jonathan
04-09-2011, 11:56 AM
Not accurate my be a poor choice of words

Probably, I was never very good in English lessons...

I guess all you have to do is change the probe tip to a simple cylinder that's at least as long as the height of the piece. The only issue is as the cylinder pivots about the top it will give a slightly different reading depending on the height. Easily compensated for by just drawing a contour round the path generated (or using a much longer cylinder) and accepting it may probe a little of the bed.

Alternatively you could probe the edge at different heights then generate the path from the limits of those, but that's going to take a while.

stirling
04-09-2011, 12:35 PM
I think you're running a little ahead of yourself and perhaps missing the point of what this is primarily meant to do. The idea is to create a profile which is then used to constrain a bed o nails type probe. How you go about creating the profile is up to you - you can skip the edge probing and draw it in CAD if you like. You just then feed that into the 3D routine. The edge probing is there to help with that if it's appropriate. You might want to try it before you think up all the reasons it "won't work" for some given situation. This routine has been in use for several years by pros all over the world from luthiers, gun stock makers, reproduction moulding manufacturers to name a tiny few.

luke11cnc
04-09-2011, 12:38 PM
please don't get into an argument over this.

James

stirling
04-09-2011, 12:56 PM
James - I don't drop in often and posted a link to my FREE software in good faith and in the hope it might be useful to ANYONE in the context of the thread. It doesn't work for everyone - nor do I claim it's a magic bullet. I do think however it's neither good manners nor is it professional to start finding fault BEFORE EVEN TRYING IT.

John S
04-09-2011, 01:00 PM
Stirling,
We will all be able to try it when Jonathan starts churning out these probes for 25 each, I mean for this price why mess about yourself. I don't mind him becoming a millionaire.

Jonathan
04-09-2011, 01:42 PM
I'm sorry I didn't mean to upset anyone. I was merely thinking aloud about how to use what you have kindly provided in more situations. Hopefully helping by pointing out how it can be adapted, or maybe I was stating the obvious ... I don't think I was missing the point.

I have already tried the software, with a simple switch instead of probe which did work.

If it wont do what I need, which is unlikely, I'll just write my own program and post it with the rest I've done.

luke11cnc
04-09-2011, 06:36 PM
I have found a USA supplier for stylus and bits

http://store.cmms.com/Store/Category/Styli/M2%20Styli.aspx

James

luke11cnc
04-09-2011, 08:25 PM
if you made the touch probe centre part with Acrylic to replace the black you could add a coloured LED and that would give you a visual indicator and look quite cool what do you think ??

James

Jonathan
04-09-2011, 08:33 PM
if you made the touch probe centre part with Acrylic to replace the black you could add a coloured LED and that would give you a visual indicator and look quite cool what do you think ??

A single LED in the side of the cylinder would be simpler. The best way, in my opinion, would be to make it out of aluminium and have a ring of acrylic half way up so that when the LED (which is concealed inside) light it's makes the whole ring glow ... and anodise it then chamfer to get colour contrast for good measure :)

Having said that this is a tool, not a iPhone. Doing all that would make it too expensive for John S.

http://www.renishawdirect.com/en/styli/A50007804.aspx

John S
04-09-2011, 08:39 PM
Having said that this is a tool, not a iPhone. Doing all that would make it too expensive for John S.

http://www.renishawdirect.com/en/styli/A50007804.aspx

Probably :heehee:

Mind you I make a fair amounts of parts for a company that makes CCM machines, if I asked nicely they would probably give me a surplus Renishaw probe.

Don't know what I'd do with it though ? :confused:

luke11cnc
04-09-2011, 09:28 PM
how many orders have you got Jonathan to date???????

I would help you pay for the materials or even pay for mine up front if you wish

James

luke11cnc
04-09-2011, 09:30 PM
Jonathan a upper ring with your name or product name cut in the side would make you stand out ??

James

Jonathan
05-09-2011, 07:10 PM
I would help you pay for the materials or even pay for mine up front if you wish

Thank you for the offer, but I've already got the materials (2.5" aluminium round bar I reckon) except the bearings which are cheap enough on eBay.


Jonathan a upper ring with your name or product name cut in the side would make you stand out ??

True ... however it does add to the time taken to make it so we'll see. If I get time to make my ATC it wouldn't...


Don't know what I'd do with it though ? :confused:

Make a height map of a hobnob so that you can make your own?

JAZZCNC
06-09-2011, 01:03 AM
Here's my effort at making a probe and it works a treat. Pleased with it for a first attemp could and will be improved when I get round to it. . :heehee:

JAZZCNC
06-09-2011, 01:16 AM
James - I don't drop in often and posted a link to my FREE software in good faith and in the hope it might be useful to ANYONE in the context of the thread. It doesn't work for everyone - nor do I claim it's a magic bullet. I do think however it's neither good manners nor is it professional to start finding fault BEFORE EVEN TRYING IT.

Stirling I thank you very much these routines will help me greatly and save me hours trying to write my own.
Would also be interested in looking closer at your probe if possible.

Again thank you very much.

JAZZCNC
10-09-2011, 02:29 AM
Now this is what you call real Probing . . . I want one.!!:rofl: . . .


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUgWBlEewyk

Web Goblin
10-09-2011, 02:01 PM
This one looks interesting : http://www.machsupport.com/docs/SW_Digitising_Probe.pdf

Ian

JAZZCNC
10-09-2011, 03:12 PM
This one looks interesting : http://www.machsupport.com/docs/SW_Digitising_Probe.pdf

Ian

Pritty much same thing Ian only difference is it use's a differant way to contact the balls to the circiut board. It eliminates the need to solder balls onto circuit board but at the expense of extra parts. . . . Other wise it's just the same.

I'm just in the process of making a new probe. Will work on same principle just machined differant and usable as tool height gauge. . . I'll post pics when done.

luke11cnc
28-01-2012, 08:54 PM
Well I think I'm ready to invest in a probe or even if I could buy a old prototype and have a play it would be good

I did ask a member on this forum to make me one but sadly it never came to light so I'm asking if some one else to make me one I will pay up front for it if that suits

James

deannos
31-01-2012, 01:16 AM
Found this on another forum might be of use

Digitizing Probe PDF
http://www.grunblau.com/brian/downloads/CNC%20Digitizing%20Probe.pdf



Digitizing Probe CAD
http://www.grunblau.com/brian/downloads/digitizingprobe.zip