PDA

View Full Version : Which MDF?

MrWiz73
07-09-2011, 08:57 PM
Hello everyone! Could anyone shed any light on which make of MDF i need to be using with my router? I have recently seen a feed suggesting Medite and Caberwood as they dont fur-up when cut. Is this true? I need it in 4mm thickness and am producing 30mm high numbers for clock faces. The stuff i am using at the minute is rubbish! Could it be that i am using the wrong speed/feed rate? I am fairly new to this so any advice would be great.

Wiz

Ricardoco
07-09-2011, 09:46 PM
Hi There Wiz, Well the question of different types of MDF also went through my mind when i started using a router by hand, in the end it came down to Feed rate, spindle speed, Type and quality of cutter.

Im sure there are better and worse brands of MDF but for me the local DIY is the usual supplier, and to be fair im not sure they wouldnt think i was a marsian if i asked them who was the supplier or what was the brand..

Experiment i suppose is the order of the day and if you cant get a consistantly acceptable finish then perhaps buy from another DIY... give it a go it will be fun, innexpensive and you can let us all know your findings..

Rick

Jonathan
07-09-2011, 10:06 PM
With MDF you want to use a relatively high feedrate and low spindle speed so that you get a high chipload (about 0.3mm depending). If the swarf is dust then either reduce the spindle speed or increase the feed.
What size cutter are you using so I can give some examples?

Ricardoco
07-09-2011, 10:25 PM
With MDF you want to use a relatively high feedrate and low spindle speed so that you get a high chipload (about 0.3mm depending). If the swarf is dust then either reduce the spindle speed or increase the feed.
What size cutter are you using so I can give some examples?

There you go Wiz I knew Jonathan would know this one :smile: it will actually provide some very usefull tips and information for others.

Rick

MrWiz73
08-09-2011, 07:03 AM