PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on starting my own machine shop.

newtoid1986
07-09-2011, 09:12 PM
Hi all,
I have 6 years experience using CNC and manual machines and am looking to start my own precision engineering sub-contracting company and eventually produces my own product. I will be working on my own to start with.

I have a workshop sorted the size of a double garage complete with 3 phase and roller door.

I have formulated a list of local competitors and customers with a plan to send a package including covering letter, pamphlet, and a machined sample of something useful with my company name (e.g pen pot). I also have a contact to do a decent website.

I have allowed £13,000 to start up a used plant list:
Manual mill = 3000
Manual lathe = 2000
Pedestal drill = 300
Tapping machine = 350
Linisher = 150
Bandsaw = 130
Surface Table = 50
Bench grinder = 150
Misc. tools = 200
Compressor = 700
Enco mini CNC mill = 1500
CNC turret mill = 4500

I will be doing this on the side whilst doing my current job in order to build up a big enough customer base before going full time.

Does anyone have any advice on things I have missed please?
Thanks

Web Goblin
08-09-2011, 06:16 AM
Cold cut chop saw maybe for cutting up some stock before machining. You would also need a good selection of drill/taps, dies and cutting tools/tips for your machines.
Also have you allowed cash for a basic stock of materials? What about CAD and a pc? Are you going to do any CAD work before machining or are you going to program everything of the machines?

Ian

Swarfing
08-09-2011, 05:58 PM
Formulate all of the above into a business plan, you can download these off the net. Take your figures then double it, give yourself targets to be done by.

newtoid1986
08-09-2011, 07:17 PM