PDA

View Full Version : To usb,or not to usb,that is the question.

Jumbo
17-10-2011, 10:22 AM
Hi all,building my first router,nearly finished the mechanics and on the verge of buying the electronics.I like the look of cambam for the cad etc,as this is my first machine should i go with a usb board.I kind of like the idea if this means i can design on my laptop(in the warm)then take laptop to cold workshop.Im new to this so any suggestions would be great.:smile:

m_c
17-10-2011, 03:49 PM
Personally I'd say USB, as parallel ports are gradually becoming rarer, and can be quite tempremental to setup.

I run a Smoothstepper, and would recommend it, however development does seem to be very sporadic. I stopped paying much attention to the Warp9 forums, but I do know Greg was looking to develop a network based Smoothstepper once he'd ironed out the remaining bugs in the existing SS.
There are other options, such as thr Dynomotion Kflop, but it all depends on how much money you're willing to spend, and what functionality you need.

Regardless of whether you go USB or not, I would suggest that you have a seperate computer for machine control, with just the essential software installed to minimise any issues you may have due to random bits of software causing problems.

Jumbo
17-10-2011, 04:01 PM
Thanks,will go with two computers.What do you think of this http://www.zappautomation.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=15&products_id=197 I think i only need basic functionality for now,trying to keep to budget is tricky.

Jonathan
17-10-2011, 04:14 PM
What do you think of this [URL]http://www.zappautomation.co.uk/product_info.php?cPath=15&products_id=197[/URL

That or, if you fancy some soldering:
http://www.planet-cnc.com/

I would try parallel first and see how you get on. It doesn't have to cost you anything to try it and see.

I would quite like a smoothstepper, but I'm happy with how the machine runs as it is so I can wait.

m_c
17-10-2011, 04:18 PM