PDA

View Full Version : RFQ: Looking at getting some small parts machined using Brass.

ryanlownie
21-10-2011, 03:49 PM
I have designed some small parts that need machining out of brass.

I'll cut straight to it, I'm no engineer and nor am I qualified in anyway to design such parts but I do have the basic understanding. The parts have been designed and modelled using Autodesk Inventor and saved as .ipt files, from there I have no clue where to go apart from supply that file to a potential manufacturer to process and move forwards.

If you feel that you could help me with this process and manufacture the parts, I would love to hear from you. Part files can be emailed to anyone interested.

I will need help with validating the parts and their possibility of getting made in the first place plus the odd minor question on the parts I am designing.

I will need 1 of each part made to test fitment and from there it'll be quantities starting at 10-15pcs and potentially more if it takes off.

I've never done anything like this before so please fire away with any questions you my have and excuse my naivety to it all :)

Photos:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/851/batteryblock.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/204/chassisinsert.jpg/

Dimensions:

The parts are around 1.5" wide from memory.

PatK
22-10-2011, 10:28 AM
Hi, I should post up a picture or sketch of some kind to give an indication of what you're after, it may look like 'the queen Mary' or a pin head? personally I can't be of help actually making the parts but you need to give an idea of what machinery may be needed.

Regards,

Pat

m_c
22-10-2011, 08:27 PM
More details are needed.
Aprox. size, and a couple screen shots would be nice, so people can get an idea of what you're trying to get machined, and if they have the capabilities to do it.

ryanlownie
24-10-2011, 01:46 PM
Of course, totally forgot about that oops!

See here:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/851/batteryblock.jpg/