PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: marker pen driven over an 8x4 sheet help.

Danny
27-10-2011, 08:02 PM
Hi My names Danny i have some work background in using 2d cad cam ( lectra) top spin cutters for cutting fabric and some skills in solidworks. I have been interested in home building boats and have designed and built my own craft designing it in SW using sheet metal functions to create flattened patterns, i am currently making a 17 ft Thames skiff from plans purchased from Selway fisher. i am looking for a DIY solution for drawing 1:1 scaled lines directly onto 8x4 sheets of plywood .
Being a novice to cnc building i have a very simple an probably unrealistic idea of what is required:
i would like to build a vertical mounted (to save on space) x y plotter that's cheap and easy to build so i can jigsaw out patterns .
Is this possible ?
What should i buy?
Can i make this happen on a shoestring?

blackburn mark
28-10-2011, 11:14 AM
that sounds like a lot of work just to get markings for you to follow with a jigsaw..... it "MIGHT" be only a little bit more heart ache and pain to build a lightweight router to do the cutting for you that will at the very least be as acuraite as following lines with a saw... (a cnc router is really only a plotter with a bit of backbone)

if your only ever going to cut woods with a max thickness of say 2" it needent be a heavy monster of a machine and mounting it verticaly should still be an option.

plenty of people build usable cnc machines with less experience than it sounds like you have.... with a lots patience and the guys on this forum you should be able to get there

ps: we were or are all novices at building cnc's so dont be thinking your going to get a roasting for asking daft questions :smile:

that really depends an what "you" mean by "shoesting"
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CNC-Kit-3-Axis-Driver-1-86-Nm-NEMA-23-Motor-PSU-/180738281785?pt=UK_BOI_Industrial_Automation_Contr ol_ET&hash=item2a14d75139