PDA

View Full Version : Driver Lights Red



Toddy
05-11-2011, 12:06 PM
Need help guys, routout 25 way d breakout board,msd880 stepper drivers,ps702 power supplys and 10mm threaded rod for leadscrews:rofl: i know but its temp.
Need help setting up Mach 3 settings for pins n ports, im lost
My other problem(to me) is all red lights r on on the drivers,no green lights lit up,am i doing somethig wrong, do i need to put +5 to breaker board or not and if so to where?

any and all comments welcome:confused:

Jonathan
05-11-2011, 12:12 PM
Red lights on drivers is bad ... either the drivers are broken (not likely) or they are connected wrong. Double check all the motor wire connections. With the drivers off the motors should spin freely - if they don't they're connected wrong.
Breakout board wont make a difference to the lights on the drivers.

What motors are you using?

i2i
05-11-2011, 12:17 PM
do you have the enables set correctly

Jonathan
05-11-2011, 12:27 PM
Page 23/24 of this may help you to identify the fault:

http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/pdf/manuals/Kinco%202M880N%20User%20Manual%20090806.pdf

The enables are active low, so as long as they are not connected it should work.

Toddy
05-11-2011, 12:48 PM
Cheers for quik response,
Motors-SY60STH86
Wiring setup,black/white n green/white together B-
black n green together B+
red/white n blue/white together A-
red n white together A+

Breakerboard setup is
x axis pin 2 pul+,pin3 dir+
y axis pin 4 pul+,pin5 dir+
z axis pin 6 pul+,pin7 dir+

Regarding mach3 pin port settings i havent really got a clue yet what settings to enter

Jonathan
05-11-2011, 12:59 PM
Motors-SY60STH86
Wiring setup,black/white n green/white together B-
black n green together B+
red/white n blue/white together A-
red n white together A+

That's wrong... you've got one coil on each phase backwards.


B- Green--Black/white
B+ Black--Green/white
A- Yellow--Red/white
A+ Red--Yellow/white


Lucky your drivers are protected against wiring wrong!

I'll post about the breakout board later if you need it... hopefully it'll all work once the wiring is sorted.
Basically you look on the breakout board manual for which axis each pin is set to and enter those in the ports and pins setup in mach3. Then set the E-stop pin on the inputs tab otherwise nothing will work...

Toddy
05-11-2011, 03:46 PM
cheers jonathan that works great, but now a quik ?
first time playing around with movement 5 mins ok, powered down switched of,went for cuppa
went to switch on 5 mins later and the single psu running single driver went bang(nothing altered or touched).opened the psu and behold a small black chip on circuit board near to rear blew up---was it me or just bad luck,can i get new chip or what.(80quid a new one)