PDA

View Full Version : Improving your CNC3040/3020

DanielF
22-11-2011, 01:48 PM
G'day all. I just joined, and this is my first post, hopefully in the most appropriate forum. Let me start by introducing myself...

I'm a retired electronics engineer, with no previous experience in CNC machining. I did a little manual machining as prac work in my uni course (in the 60s), but nothing since then. So consider me a complete novice in machining! For an electronic (hobby) project I'm currently designing, I wanted to have more professional front & rear panel legends than my usual self-adhesive paper labels, so investigated engraving (the panels are black-painted aluminium). After a quick search on eBay, I decided that, rather than paying someone hundreds of $ to program and engrave my panels, I'd be better off putting those hundreds towards my own engraving machine! I was going to get a Chinese CNC3020 (about all I was prepared to pay), but spotted a bargain CNC3040T for the same price, and snapped it up.

As usual, 'Ya gets what ya pays for' - it arrived slightly damaged (inadequately packed), and the Hong Kong seller, who had only just started with this line of products (which is possibly why they made a mistake with the price) offered no support whatsoever. After repairing the slight damage, I started playing with the machine, using Mach3 (v3.042.040). I noticed a few problems with the design/construction of the control box, and set about fixing them. At the same time, I was coming to grips with G-code programming, having already 'mastered' BASIC, C and Assembly language as part of my previous work.