PDA

View Full Version : Looking for information to help buy my first CNC machine

mholt1985
18-12-2011, 12:09 AM
Hi All, Im looking for a little help in deciding which machine to go for, or the benefits of each,

Im a graphic designer looking to branch into 3D Plaques, signs, memorabilia and prototypes.

Im looking to machine in wood and plastic, and if the Machine could cope with metal then Im sure I would find it useful.

And hopefully a machine that will cope with at least A3 media.

My budget is sub £1500 for all the equipment needed, although if its possible to acquire a good quality machine for less than £1000 then I would prefer that option.

Im looking to machine in wood and plastic, and if the Machine could cope with metal then Im sure I would find it useful.

I have looked at the CNC 6040 in both 3 and 4 axis, my understanding is that X is left/right, Y is Forward/Backward, Z is Up/Down. Therefore Im assuming the 4th axis will help with 3D objects and prototypes.

4 Axis 6040 - £1390 - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/4-AXIS-CNC-6040-ROUTER-ENGRAVER-DRILLING-AND-MILLING-MACHINE-/320813928122?pt=UK_BOI_Metalworking_Milling_Weldin g_Metalworking_Supplies_ET&hash=item4ab2000eba#ht_16280wt_989

3 Axis 6040 - £1210 - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CNC-6040-ROUTER-ENGRAVER-DRILLING-MILLING-MACHINE-AA-/120716208448?pt=UK_BOI_Metalworking_Milling_Weldin g_Metalworking_Supplies_ET&hash=item1c1b3f2940#ht_15750wt_1079

I have also looked at refurbished machines, the one below requires Software and Interface & Driver Kits, which adds a further £350 from the same seller.

3 Axis MDL-2-TR-UN - £414.50 - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/220882464115?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2649#ht_946wt_1079

Which software do you advise? is mach3 any good? or are there better options for a similar price?

Is it best to buy separate kits or ready to use kits?