PDA

View Full Version : New cheap touch probe of fleabay



Robin Hewitt
06-01-2012, 10:07 AM
New meaning I haven't seen it before...

Stated accuracy on the 2mm ruby tip is .001" (0.025mm) which is not hugely impressive, but the 140 shipped price ticket is.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/160711238923

Opinions? Thought I'd ask before I got one, rather than get told I was a twit after the event :heehee:

Robin

Robin Hewitt
06-01-2012, 11:17 AM
Aw bollocks to it, it's only 140 quid, I just bought one.

Twit status can be determined when it arrives :naughty:

Jonathan
06-01-2012, 11:51 AM
Aw bollocks to it, it's only 140 quid, I just bought one

Only!

It will be interesting to see how it compares to a homemade one. They mention about using different metals for the contacts to stop carbonising. I wonder if the contacts are gold plated, or if there's more to it than that. If so then I'm sure one could find some gold plated connectors to use as contacts to make one.

luke11cnc
06-01-2012, 01:30 PM
I'm still waiting for Jonathan to make me one

http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/showthread.php/3739-Touch-Probe/page3

James

dudz
10-06-2013, 08:37 PM
Hi Robin,
How was this probe ? Does it glide over the objects like in the youtube video ?; CNC USB Controller - Digitizing 3D model with probe - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZYJU1kwtzV4)





New meaning I haven't seen it before...

Stated accuracy on the 2mm ruby tip is .001" (0.025mm) which is not hugely impressive, but the 140 shipped price ticket is.

Touch probe cmm digitizing renishaw haas fadal cnc mill lathe router engraver | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/160711238923)

Opinions? Thought I'd ask before I got one, rather than get told I was a twit after the event :heehee:

Robin

Cube3
22-05-2014, 12:50 PM
I bought one of these, took about 10 days to arrive, been using for a week now. Very impressed so far, been using it to measure some T1 injection mouldings, mainly for hole positions. I am struggling to work out how to get it to probe a "boss". Just started to do some forum searching and may well contact the supplier to help solve this problem. I needed to buy the license (18.50) to be able to calibrate the probe and measure lots of holes, but hey 18! Simon

dudz
22-05-2014, 01:45 PM
Ive had one for a while now. Dont use it, cus no software out there that's good and cheap

Cube3
22-05-2014, 01:55 PM
What are you trying to use the probe for?

dudz
22-05-2014, 04:46 PM
What are you trying to use the probe for?


copying. Getting point clouds. All the free stuff is rubbish.

Wanted a program that would get point clouds and convert into mesh all in one.

dudz
26-05-2014, 10:13 PM
Seems this must be relatively new technology . Vectric doesn't have software that does it all from point clouds to mesh to dxf.

Leadhead
16-08-2015, 09:03 AM
Hi - Any reports on the 150 ish, probes on fleebay please? Deepgroove in particular.
Purchase pending. Not impressed by the 57 one I bought. Will one of these be an improvement?

Clive S
16-08-2015, 09:19 AM
Hi - Any reports on the 150 ish, probes on fleebay please? Deepcut in particular.
Purchase pending. Not impressed by the 57 one I bought. Will one of these be an improvement?A link would be nice:link:

dudz
16-08-2015, 10:10 AM
Not Ebay, but I bought this probe. Works great. Ive had no problems in 2 years with it. I use it for center finding / edge finding / and setting Z Zero

http://www.wildhorse-innovations.com/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=80&review=read#read_review



(http://www.wildhorse-innovations.com/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=80&review=read#read_review)

Robin Hewitt
16-08-2015, 10:42 AM
I bought it but I never tried it, how sad is that. I just found it on a shelf, BNIB :whistle:

Leadhead
17-08-2015, 08:37 AM
Here is link to proposed purchase :- http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/stainless-digitizing-probe-cnc-sherline-maxnc-taig-plasma-mill-router-engraver-/151369342582?hash=item233e50de76 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/stainless-digitizing-probe-cnc-sherline-maxnc-taig-plasma-mill-router-engraver-/151369342582?hash=item233e50de76)

Best sell me yours Robin??

Robin Hewitt
18-08-2015, 10:06 AM
Best sell me yours Robin??

If I haven't used it after years have passed it would seem likely that it is never going to get used, OTOH you can never be sure...

What to do? :confusion:

Leadhead
18-08-2015, 12:11 PM
Sell it and borrow it back if you need it?

Robin Hewitt
19-08-2015, 10:36 AM
Sent :thumsup: