PDA

View Full Version : Total novice seeks advice on stepper motor drivers

R.Andersen
24-01-2012, 04:48 PM
Hi!

I am a complete novice on CNC-machines and has in fact never used one before. That being said I have for a long time wanted to make a desktop sized, cheap CNC-machine to learn the basics of how these work and might even make a few simple things with it (like milling PCB's, cutting thin metal sheets and such). I have therefore been googling a bit and looked at several DIY-projects. My main problem with most of the DIY-builds however are that they are too expensive for me (being a student means that money is a bit tight, sadly).

Being a complete dummy when it comes to electronics does not make things easier, since my biggest problem with this project is to figure out what electronics I need to drive my stepper motors and router. So far what I have managed to understand is that I will need driver boards for my steppers, as well as a breakout board so that I am able to interface the driver boards with my computer and the CAM/CAD software that I will be using.

I have found a driver board and a breakout board on Ebay, that seemed to fit the bill (for a low-cost as well):

Driver: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/L298N-Stepper-Motor-Driver-Controller-Board-Module-DC-/230635902504?pt=UK_AudioElectronicsVideo_Video_Tel evisionSetTopBoxes&hash=item35b2f89628#ht_5778wt_1163

Breakout board: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CNC-5-Axis-Breakout-Board-Interface-Adapter-Stepper-Motor-Driver-/180753543086?pt=UK_BOI_Industrial_Automation_Contr ol_ET&hash=item2a15c02fae#ht_6701wt_905

From my understanding I will need 3 of the driver boards a long with 3 stepper motors (have the motors from an old printer I scrapped) as well as a power supply, a router of some sort (dremel perhaps?) and of course the breakout board.