PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hello everyone. Total newbie here. Where do I begin?

DarkWalkJRB
06-02-2012, 06:04 PM
Hi All,

Complete and total newbie here. I'm looking to get a mill and lathe so that I can make bits 'n pieces for my hobbies, Paintball and Tamiya RCs. I'd been thinking of getting these bits of machinery for years but I've only decided on actually pushing myself forward on it this year, which is all well and good, but I have no idea where to start.

So where do I begin?

I guess I should start with giving as much info as I can...

1) What am I planning to do?
As I'd mentioned above I'm into Paintball and Tamiya RC's so I'd be making or modifying parts for those two hobbies. I'm also pretty sure that a friend of mine will ask me to help him make lightsaber hilts & parts once I get going on a lathe. I don't have any plans to do anything large scale (like making hundreds of parts for selling). I only want to do hobby level parts, just small bits for my hobbies (or parts for my friends & families hobbies).

2) What materials would I be working in?
Most of what I'd modify is metal of some sort (usually aluminium but titanium, brass and steel are also used). Some smaller parts are made of plastic (delrin, nylatron, polycarbonate & acetate). I'd also like to do a few bits in some wood (grips etc.). That being said I'd mainly be working with T6061 aluminium should I actually fabricate something myself.

3) What kind of equipment would I like?
I'd obviously like to have a CNC mill and lathe (or mini versions of) but I'd like to start off with manual versions to "get my bearings" so to speak.

4) How much space do I have for said equipment?