PDA

View Full Version : Z-Axis design and advice

Mad Professor
13-03-2012, 07:59 PM
Good day all.

I am now starting to look at moving away from my DIY Built MDF & Plywood CNC Router/Mill.
It has been ok for small job's, and my pcb's, but I now want to move on to slighty bigger jobs, and also would like to start milling things like alu.

I have been looking on web sites, google, etc, at how other pepole have made there own z-axis.

Here is what I have come up with so far.

http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/Z-Axis Isometric View.jpg
If you wish to view my design I have the SolidWorks files here: Click Me (http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/CNC Z-Axis Design.zip) <1.2Mb.

I am not very good with SolidWorks, but I get there in the end, so the files might be some what messy.

I am looking to have it made from 20mm thick alu.
Will be using a TR16x4 leadscrew.

Any advice you can give me is grate.

Thanks for your time.

Best Regards.

wiatroda
13-03-2012, 08:03 PM
If that was me, I would try to use supported rails- you will gain extra stiffness and increase on travel (because you won't need support blocks anymore) . Otherwise looks OK

JunkieHobbo
13-03-2012, 08:34 PM
I am newbie at this CNC design/build area but most of the advice that I have seen has been along the lines of "Use Supported Rail".

Currently working on a Project aswell and from my investigation, Profile Rails are the way to go, then again I could me wrong.

HTH

wiatroda
13-03-2012, 08:39 PM
It is beneficial for additional rigidity to add extra mounting screws between joining screws of rail and supporting part- in middle, between two screws at the back of the rail

JAZZCNC
13-03-2012, 09:04 PM
If you have to use the unsupported rail then yes it's ok and just about the only way you can do it.!! . . . BUT it will struggle with Ali.!

If you can use supported rail then you would be best advised to change things around.! Put the rails on the front plate and the bearings on the rear plate.