PDA

View Full Version : Breakout Board Comparison

200thhorseman
25-03-2012, 11:26 PM
Dear all,

Does anyone have any experience of the OPPB and UNIPORT breakout boards available from diycnc.co.uk? I'm a noob and just starting out looking at what equipment I need. The two boards on this site look good but I'm not really sure what you get for the extra money when you buy the OPPB board.

Regards,

Rob

ecat
26-03-2012, 06:34 PM
I have a UNIPORT, just like the one in the picture. I couldn't get the charge pump (PC present signal) to work with LinuxCNC, I think I had the same trouble with Mach 3 too. Apart from that there is not much more I can say, totally faultless, transparent in operation, in fact I just had to check to make sure it was still there :wink:

The UNIPORT is powered from the PC by a USB cable, or some other 5v supply.

It looks like the OPPB requires a 15v or above power source - you can see the big heatsink which probably cools the onboard 12v regulator. It has outputs providing 12v and 5v if you need them.

The UNIPORT has five optical isolated inputs, you can see the row of little 6 pin chips. Optical isolation helps protect the board and you PC from any nasty external voltages.

It looks like the OPPB has optical isolation on all connections back to the PC (?) and not just the five external inputs, a full 17 little 4 pin chips in fact!

So, OPPB has more flexibility with respect to power supply and provides the attached PC more protection. I think.

John S
26-03-2012, 08:53 PM
We had exactly the same problem with the Uniport.
Had to go down to Droitwich and take the board out and send it back with a Dell computer that it wouldn't run with.
Roy had to modify the board and rob one of the inputs to amplify the signal.

Then had the same problem on the System 1 board and 3 or 4 had to go back and have the same thing done.
Managed to get Roy down and sort this at our place so that saved a trip.