PDA

View Full Version : copying jigs on a cnc



crossleymarko
06-04-2012, 10:02 PM
hi all, hope someone can help.
how would someone go about copying a jig (worktop etc0 on a cnc.
is there a way to make a dxf for an already made jig
:tickled_pink:

motoxy
06-04-2012, 10:22 PM
Quickest way would be to measure and draw. It is possible to use a probe and get the cnc to measure it up. If you scan you would not get the accuracy you need.

Bruce

crossleymarko
06-04-2012, 10:29 PM
Quickest way would be to measure and draw. It is possible to use a probe and get the cnc to measure it up. If you scan you would not get the accuracy you need.

Bruce

scan? as in on a scanner... mmm. its a big jig.. lol..

John S
06-04-2012, 10:35 PM
If this is one of the jigs for joining worktops do a web search on some woodworking forums.
I'm sure the design and drawings have been posted many times.

If it wasn't related to woodwork I'd have a look but last time I did this I got splinters so sod that.