PDA

View Full Version : How do I blow a driver??

ian823478
20-04-2012, 01:40 PM
Hi all

Rather than actually wanting to blow anything up, I was after a bit of guidance on what cock-ups to avoid!
As a novice I've just taken delivery of a system4 kit from Roy of DIYCNC.
From reading round these forums I've picked up not to mess about with motor connections with the power on.
Are there any other things to avoid that might not be obvious to the uninitiated?
If a motor stalls does that damage anything?
How necessary is it to use screened cable to the motors?
Roy's manual suggests starting off with the boards set to min current to start with.
Any input welcome, no suggestions are too basic!

Cheers
Ian

routercnc
20-04-2012, 02:08 PM
Hi Ian,

I have the system 3 from Roy and I know from experience that if you accidentally wire the motor up wrong it will blow the driver. In that case, and possibly with system 4 as well, the main chip was plugged into a holder not directly soldered so it cost about £10 to repair.

I used screened cable but I think that's not required. Someone will correct me I'm sure!

JAZZCNC
20-04-2012, 03:18 PM
Hello Ian,

Like Rcn says make sure motor phases are correct. Sheilded cable or unshielded won't damage the drives in any way but with unshielded you run the risk of introducing electrical noise into the system and control signals which can and will cause eratic hair pulling probelms and send you round the bend so just not worth skimping on.!!

Stalling motors won't do any damage what so ever to drives or motors.
NEVER disconnect the motors from drives with power ON,(this goes for any driver not just Roy's) 99.999% time it will blow drives.

Don't give them more than the drives rated Voltage or even the actual rated voltage as back fed current from motors when de-accelerating could blow them, best to leave a small safety margin IE 30V drives use 24V PSU. This why it's best to buy drives with spare capacity.