PDA

View Full Version : USB and Ethernet Mach3 motion controller PLCM-E3



Purelogic RnD
24-04-2012, 02:04 PM
USB and Ethernet Mach3 motion controller PLCM-E3

Interface: STEP/DIR/ENABLE
Max. freq: 100KHz
Size: 86x82x20
Pins: 3 ports (same to standard LPT ports), 36 "out" and 15 "in". All ins and outs are buffered.
Site: http://plmotion.com (http://plmotion.com/)

Main features:

Ethernet(using TCP/IP) or USB Full-speed connection
Up to 6 axes, 100kHz pulsing engine
PWM spindle control
Probing
Torch Height Control
Slave Axis support
Soft limits
Easy firmware update
DB25F connector to reproduce standard LPT connection
DLL for direct access to controller could be provided
Power supply 5Vdc or USB
Power-over-Ethernet(optionally)
5833

rnr107
24-04-2012, 03:34 PM
Hi,
Is this UK based?
How much are these for?

RNR

Purelogic RnD
24-04-2012, 05:41 PM
Hi,
No, HQ based in Russia, but we can ship our devices to UK
At the current moment you can buy device E3p with PoE at promotional price 125USD(shipping fee add 40USD)
Here is manuals for the controllers: http://purelogic.ru/doc/PDF/Controller/english/plcm-e3.zip

Mad Professor
30-04-2012, 04:29 PM
How does this compare to to warp9 tech design's USB SmoothStepper, and Ethernet SmoothSteppers?

I ask as I am looking to change from printer port, to USB or Ethernet very soon.

Purelogic RnD
30-04-2012, 08:27 PM
We've not examined ESS(have anyone got such experience?) but we sold a hundreds of Plcm series ethernet devices in Russia before ESS even was announced. In one word, plcm are stable, all known bugs are fixed(last bug wasregistered and fixed in march). Plcm-e3 have STABLE USB, while afair SS use FTDI chip and drivers, it hangs up after even a little interference, f.e. when you powers up a spindle.
There are some difference in pulsing engine - PLCM provide 100khz, but it's enough for most purposes. And you can't do threading on plcm, bur I'm not sure that SS supports this function.

John S
30-04-2012, 11:38 PM
And you can't do threading on plcm, bur I'm not sure that SS supports this function.

That saved me asking the question, unless you can get a multi line encoder into Mach you are wasting time threading.

Mad Professor
01-05-2012, 09:47 AM
How would someone from the UK place an order for your products?
And how do you take payment? PayPal, Card, Etc?

Purelogic RnD
01-05-2012, 10:42 AM
At the current moment, during the spring promotion, you can send us an email to avv at purelogic.ru or address you can find on our website, with qty and model (E3 or E3p-with PoE) of devices you want, shipping address, name, contact phone and email address for PayPal invoice. Device will be shipped in 3-4 busines day after payment

John S
01-05-2012, 10:08 PM
I'm a bit confused, although that's not hard :playful:
It says " Controller can be connected to any BOB or CNC driver box (destined for LPT-port) via DB-25 connector."

If you are using the parallel port they why the ethernet and USB connections ?

Can you use this on just USB or ethanet and forget the BOB and parallel port ?

Jonathan
01-05-2012, 11:29 PM
I'm a bit confused, although that's not hard :playful:
It says " Controller can be connected to any BOB or CNC driver box (destined for LPT-port) via DB-25 connector."


I assumed that meant the output of the controller can be connected to a parallel port connector on your control box. Some sort of simple cable to convert the connectors on the PCB to a DB-25 connector.

John S
01-05-2012, 11:38 PM
I'm reading it as it has Ethernet, USB and DB25 as inputs and outputs go out the 9 pin serial direct to the stepper drives ?
If so and it can use USB or Ethernet why a BoB ?

Documentation isn't very clear.

Jonathan
01-05-2012, 11:54 PM
Documentation isn't very clear.

Indeed...

Although this bit implies its output is the same pinout as the parallel port:


The branded software enables one to use the I/O ports of the
controller in MACH3 instead of computer built-in LPT ports. If you
were earlier using a computer LPT port to connect drivers, you will
need to disconnect the connector from the computer LPT port, connect
it to the PLCM controller and install the appropriate plug-in
for MACH3.
Each controller has at least one port completely matching the
physical LPT port.

If so that sounds like a good idea if you've already make your control box. Just plug this in between and go.

Still not liking mainly the lack of information about the interface/software/drivers but also the 100KHz limitation and only being compatible with Mach3.

John S
02-05-2012, 12:32 AM
If so that sounds like a good idea if you've already make your control box. Just plug this in between and go.

Still not liking mainly the lack of information about the interface/software/drivers but also the 100KHz limitation and only being compatible with Mach3.

So if you have already built your box and you plug this in between what do you achieve except a hole in the wallet ?

It worked before you plug it in so why ?

100KHz isn't any worry for me as I still use the base frequency of 25Kh, plenty fast enough at my age dick slapping is no longer an art form.
Again Mach suits me, it works and you don't have to be a geek to use it.

Jonathan
02-05-2012, 01:12 AM
So if you have already built your box and you plug this in between what do you achieve except a hole in the wallet ?

Yeah I wasn't suggesting anyone should buy it!


100KHz isn't any worry for me as I still use the base frequency of 25Kh, plenty fast enough at my age dick slapping is no longer an art form.
Again Mach suits me, it works and you don't have to be a geek to use it.

I only use 30KHz. In the vast majority of cases >100KHz is pointless. It's only useful to achieve high resolution with servos, so if you don't use servos you are basically paying for the convenience of a USB cable, which does seem rather silly.

I think having and operating CNC machines already qualifies us as geeks so it's a bit late for that. I had a couple of unresolvable problems with Mach3 last week, so I promptly switched to LinuxCNC. No regrets.

Purelogic RnD
02-05-2012, 06:34 AM
It says " Controller can be connected to any BOB or CNC driver box (destined for LPT-port) via DB-25 connector."
If you are using the parallel port they why the ethernet and USB connections ?

Pls do not confuse connector with port. PLCM-E3 have 3 output ports, pinouts are similar to LPT, but it doesn't mean that they are the same.


So if you have already built your box and you plug this in between what do you achieve except a hole in the wallet ?
Stability, speed and torque.
Of course, if you absolutely satisfied with how do your CNC system works, you don't need PLCM.
But in most cases, due to PC motherboards' hardware issues, MS Windows and Mach3 architechture, output freq. on pins of PC's LPT-port is very unstable.
Who have such possibility - just use your oscilloscope to check this.
So, this causes a) step missing b) limiting maximum of speed and torque.
You can check this video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gi2B2qUJ_k (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Gi2B2qUJ_k)
This test shows that no-load max. rotating speed higher up to 40% with PLCM.
Also, there are one issue in mach3 with late changing DIR signal (http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?act=url&hl=ru&ie=UTF8&prev=_t&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=ru&tl=en&twu=1&u=http://wiki.purelogic.ru/index.php/%25D0%2593%25D0%25B5%25D0%25BD%25D0%25B5%25D1%2580 %25D0%25B0%25D1%2586%25D0%25B8%25D1%258F_%25D1%258 1%25D0%25B8%25D0%25B3%25D0%25BD%25D0%25B0%25D0%25B B%25D0%25BE%25D0%25B2_STEP_%25D0%25B8_DIR_%25D0%25 B2_PLCM&usg=ALkJrhjsfhqcheONvbK7gKgW50PqWhh4PQ).
Also, i think most of Mach3 users know, how sensitive it is to Windows interrupts. Suddenly started screen-saver can make the part you're processing now into the garbage.
You can also check first question in our FAQ (http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?act=url&hl=ru&ie=UTF8&prev=_t&rurl=translate.google.com&sl=ru&tl=en&twu=1&u=http://wiki.purelogic.ru/index.php/PLCM_FAQ&usg=ALkJrhjBNM2cuRXHT2SJx0CpwnCIpYev6w#.D0.97.D0.B 0.D1.87.D0.B5.D0.BC_.D0.BD.D1.83.D0.B6.D0.B5.D0.BD _.D0.BA.D0.BE.D0.BD.D1.82.D1.80.D0.BE.D0.BB.D0.BB. D0.B5.D1.80_PLCM.3F).

John S
02-05-2012, 09:31 AM
Sorry still doesn't explain what it does.
Simple question? Can you connect to a computer via USB or ethernet and run the stepper drivers off your board. I.E. like the smooth stepper

Purelogic RnD
02-05-2012, 09:42 AM
Simple question? Can you connect to a computer via USB or ethernet and run the stepper drivers off your board. I.E. like the smooth stepper
Yes.
but, also like a smoothstepper, it's still need a bob.

Purelogic RnD
02-05-2012, 09:57 AM
Sorry still doesn't explain what it does.
Mach3 motion controllers all have similar principles which are due to Mach3 architechture.
It does:
1) receive and buffers trajectory info from Mach3 by USB or Ethernet.
2) Process this info, transforming it to STEP/DIR/ENABLE pulses, generate them on it's "out" pins
3) receive and process signals from "in" pins
You just connect your BOB or multichannel driver to PLCM(using DB25 cable), PLCM to PC.
So, using motion controllers you decrease load on PC's CPU, system become insensitive to Windows interrupts, you get stable impulses on pins(motors rotates more smoothly) and so on.

John S
02-05-2012, 10:15 AM
OK got it now, my bad I was getting confused with a picture I had seen of your breakout board and thought the PLCM-E3 had plugs on for the stepper drivers.

Looking at the PLC4X BoB, do you have a manual in English ?
Also you have PP port on one end and 9 pin serials on other side.

Why not fit screw connectors to the board instead of 9 pin serials, seems messy having to use the extra connector boards just to get cables out ?

Purelogic RnD
02-05-2012, 10:58 AM
Looking at the PLC4X BoB, do you have a manual in English ?
No. PLC4x will be reworked and upgraded soon.

Purelogic RnD
05-06-2012, 01:06 PM
Now you can buy Purelogic PLCM-E3 on the eBay again:

CNC Mach3 motion controller Purelogic PLCM-E3p, USB / Ethernet, 6 Axis, PoE (http://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-Mach3-motion-controller-Purelogic-PLCM-E3p-USB-Ethernet-6-Axis-PoE-/140767298882?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item20c6628542)

Mad Professor
05-06-2012, 01:22 PM
I now see that "Purelogic RnD" are now listed on the Mach3 Plug-ins page: http://www.machsupport.com/plugins.php

Purelogic RnD
05-06-2012, 01:34 PM
We listed there since 2011 summer.

JAZZCNC
05-06-2012, 02:14 PM
To anyone interested I have PLCM-E3 arriving soon for testing along with PLD86 drive.!

I would have had it sooner but DHL lost the first shipment.!! . . . I must say the folks at purelogic have been very good and effiecent. The order was processed quick, payment easy and dispatched next day and DHL tracking number given. They even informed me it was lost before I realised so presume they must monitor its progress/arrival.?

Will post or start a new thread with my findings.!!. . . Good or bad.??

Mad Professor
05-06-2012, 02:23 PM
I already have my ESS now, but I am still intrested to know how you get on with the gear from Purelogic RnD.

Purelogic RnD
05-06-2012, 02:33 PM
Here (http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=ru&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.todopic.com.ar%2Fforos%2Findex. php%3Ftopic%3D38149) you can check one topic where one of our customers share his experience with plcm

JAZZCNC
05-06-2012, 02:49 PM
Here (http://translate.google.com/translate?sl=auto&tl=en&js=n&prev=_t&hl=ru&ie=UTF-8&layout=2&eotf=1&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.todopic.com.ar%2Fforos%2Findex. php%3Ftopic%3D38149) you can check one topic where one of our customers share his experience with plcm

Man that translation makes for hard reading.!!! . . . But guess he likes it.?

Purelogic RnD
05-06-2012, 02:55 PM
Well, for foreigners like us that translation seems quite clear. Sorry if it is not for native speakers, i just tried to provide more info...
you can also check topic on machsupport (http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,19380.0.html)

JAZZCNC
05-06-2012, 03:01 PM
Well, for foreigners like us that translation seems quite clear. Sorry if it is not for native speakers, i just tried to provide more info...
you can also check topic on machsupport (http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,19380.0.html)

Doh . . . Oh I hate it when my mouth blurts out my thoughts. . Lol . . . . Wasn't complaining and thank you, any info or feed back is better than none.!

motoxy
05-06-2012, 09:30 PM
Well, for foreigners like us that translation seems quite clear. Sorry if it is not for native speakers, i just tried to provide more info...
you can also check topic on machsupport (http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,19380.0.html)

You think your foreign........dean comes from Yorkshire!!

John S
05-06-2012, 09:42 PM
Can it handle multi line encoder input for lathe threading ?

Purelogic RnD
06-06-2012, 05:45 AM
No, threading(and encoders) are only lathe function that not supported.

This version of PLCM will not support encoders because of performance, we will implement it on DSP-based devices later.

But we beleive that threading can be implemented on current version of PLCM, as soon as Mach3 developers provide info about threading algorithms in Mach3.

Purelogic RnD
07-06-2012, 12:50 PM
Purelogic RnD participated in the "Metalloobrabotka-2012 (http://www.metobr-expo.ru/en/)" exhibition(Moscow)
Introduced new products:

CNC pendant PLCM-R1 with Ethernet support for Mach3.
New breakout board PLC4x-G2
New milling machine PLRA1-RG

all milling machines on this fair was controlled by plcm-e3

6110 (http://purelogic.ru/TEMP/effdvvvb4.jpg)
6111

Purelogic RnD
09-06-2012, 07:59 AM
Engraving and milling with PLCM-E3.
All machines are connected to PC by Ethernet


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=VzHHDjothhk

Ger21
09-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Couple of questions.

Is the homing handled entirely by the PLCM-E3? Does the plugin support RefCombination() to home multiple axis together?

Does the plugin work with older versions of Mach3, like 3.42.040? Or do you need to use the latest version?

Do you plan on writing a plugin for Mach4 when it's released?

Thank you.

Purelogic RnD
13-06-2012, 06:51 AM
Is the homing handled entirely by the PLCM-E3?
yes

Does the plugin support RefCombination() to home multiple axis together?
Yes, RefCombination() is supported by PLCM.



Does the plugin work with older versions of Mach3, like 3.42.040? Or do you need to use the latest version?
We did not tested the plugin with 3.42.040 and the compatibility is not guaranteed but from 3.42.040 till current stable version of the MACH3 there was made minor changes so I think PLCM's plugin will work correctly with this version of MACH3.



Do you plan on writing a plugin for Mach4 when it's released?
of course

Purelogic RnD
11-07-2012, 01:00 PM
Since July, 2012 you can find our devices on Zapp Automation (http://www.zappautomation.co.uk/plcme3-cnc-controller-for-use-with-mach3-p-776.html) online store.

Purelogic RnD
08-08-2012, 01:55 PM
Looking at the PLC4X BoB, do you have a manual in English ?

As i said, we released new board, pls check this topic: http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/manufacturer-news-product-announcements/4931-purelogic-cnc-breakout-board-plc4x-g2.html

Purelogic RnD
05-09-2012, 01:54 PM
Our customer shared video with plasma cutting using PLCM:
THC - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tAzWFGxnh8g)

orkki
29-12-2012, 09:38 AM
What pin are used Power-over-Ethernet connection and what are those pin near JP4 ?

Thank .

JBCNC
08-02-2013, 08:48 PM
Hello
I have mailed you a couple of times about reselling your products with no answer, either you are not interrested or you dont get my mails so I try one last time here.
contact me if your interested at johan at jbcnc.se