PDA

View Full Version : RFQ: CNC brass engraving from an stl file

Statstastic
24-04-2012, 02:57 PM
Hi there,

I'm a little lady in London. I'm a professional modelmaker and metalwork enthusiast. I've also got myself into a bit of a catch 22 situation...

For the past few months I've been sculpting some detailed brass mould inserts with a view to 3d engraving them on a milling machine I have access to. They are approximately 100mm x 80mm x 12mm each and there are 12 of them.

As they are scupltures they are in the form of stl files. I've just found out that not only does the milling machine only work from IGES files, but it's also not fast enough to do the engraving.

The stl file is too detailed to convert to IGES, so I'm hoping to find someone who would be in a position to engrave the inserts with a cnc router/ engraver.

As I was planning on doing this myself I didn't really have a budget for it, so I can only put together a few hundred pounds.

It's a really interesting project so I really want to finish it. Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

JAZZCNC
24-04-2012, 05:56 PM
Hello Little Lady.!!. . . . Lets see the files to see how detailed.?

John S
24-04-2012, 07:13 PM
Creep.............

Swarfing
24-04-2012, 07:15 PM
Careful he owns a brown mac too......

JAZZCNC
24-04-2012, 07:29 PM
Careful he owns a brown mac too......

No but I do have brown stained overall if that does it for ya.!! .:love_heart:

Swarfing
24-04-2012, 07:31 PM
LOL!...Always knew he was scary

motoxy
24-04-2012, 08:29 PM
OO he's a right smooth talker

Statstastic
25-04-2012, 11:38 AM
Hello Boys!

I know it's not everyday you come across a woman who knows what to do with a wobbler, but let's try to stick to the engraving shall we ;-)