PDA

View Full Version : Cutting bits nomenclature - help requested

DanielF
12-05-2012, 09:14 AM
I'm gradually building up a collection of different sized routing/milling bits for my CNC3040, and want to store them in a big box with a drilled plate and labels, so I can quickly find the one I want for a particular job. To keep the descriptions short I'm wondering if there's a 'standard' shorthand nomenclature for the main dimensions of bits. (I'm a retired electronics engineer, with little experience in machining; i.e. ignorant!)

Apart from a verbal description of the type ('end cutter', 'ball-end', 'half-flat', etc), is there a standard order for the numbers? - particularly: shank diameter, cutting diameter, cutting (flute) length, number of flutes.

If there's a 'standard' order for listing these, I could just have something like '3.0/2.0/8.0/2' next to a bit, and know exactly what it means. Of course if there's no widely-recognised standard, I can just devise my own (like that example).

Thanks in advance.

Daniel
Gerroa, Australia

m.marino
12-05-2012, 12:01 PM
Daniel,

I store my end mills by flue diameter, which can be interesting as some of them have a much larger shank then flue. All I know them by sight (I have over 20 different bits at present). Setting up a box is a good idea and you will be surprised how easy it is to remember them just by sight. The other much more important techincal information I store in the CAM systems I use (CamBam) which means I don't have to keep it in my head (though I do keep a good bit of the DOC available per type bit in my head).

I hope this helps and it is a good idea you have there.

Michael

JAZZCNC
12-05-2012, 04:53 PM
Yes I believe there is it goes like this.
HSS/5x8x14x60/1F This would = high speed steel 5mm Dia, 8mm shank, 14mm flute, 60mm total length/single flute
or
TC/6x10x20x70/R0.2/2F = Carbide 6mmDia, 10mm shank, 20mm flute, 70mm total length/0.2mm radius corner/twin flute