PDA

View Full Version : RFQ: small, primitive Press with cutting and bending capability

Noel.C
25-05-2012, 06:50 PM

Hi folks.

I registered here in the hope that I could hire
someone to do a job for me. I am working on a hobby
project that requires a set of custom tools. I have
had a bitter hard time trying to get it made through
big companies with no luck in 3 weeks.

The project consists of

1: A small simple press
2: Male and Female cutting die
3: A Punching Device
4: A bending device

I am not an engineer, but I have at least put together
some 3d models and outlines of what I am trying to
achieve, but it would require the knowledge of an
engineer to turn it into a usable device
-------------------------------

What I want is a press that you could put 1mm aluminium sheet into
and when struck with a hammer, drives a cutting die through the sheet
to leave a nice clean cut out. The press then returns to its default position
and the cutout can be safely removed. See attached the press I had in mind
and also an outline of the cutting dies I need.

What I also wanted was the ability to swap out the dies for a tool that
allows the cut out to recieve 2 hole punches. After which the punch tool
can be swapped out for a bending tool that allows the cutout to recieve
an exact bend.

All of this for an item around 25x35mm in size.
I hope that made sense. I am looking for someone to make it real for me and
I have funds available now to get it started.

John S
25-05-2012, 08:29 PM
From what I can see this can all be done with one set of punches on a simple fly press, google fly press.

If the male and female have the bend shape in your last picture, bottom right but also the outline shape of the part the flypress with first cut it, then bend it and a set of spring loaded pins will finally punch the holes.
Ejection springs are needed to obviously eject the part ready for the next item.

Noel.C
25-05-2012, 08:39 PM