PDA

View Full Version : Which cnc

Boovey
17-06-2012, 12:15 PM
Hi everyone ,
I asked this forum a while ago what cnc should I buy , a Chinese one or have one made . I have £4000 and I want a cutting area of 1220 x1220 .
so I went and bought a Chinese one gm cnc and I wish I hadn't as I took it back 2 days later for a full refund , I have my refund and I'm looking for a decent cnc router good enough and accurate enought to build furniture and one off shop fittings .

I live in the midlands so travelling to see machines running isn't a problem , I just don't want to spend my hard earns on junk , all info would be greatly appreiciated as I'm new to all cnc machining ,
thanks

Boovey
17-06-2012, 04:43 PM
Jazz cnc do you mean ?

Jonathan
17-06-2012, 04:54 PM
Jazz cnc do you mean ?

Yep.

To get a good machine for a remotely reasonable price you have 3 options (in order of cost):
1) Make and design it all yourself
2) Pay someone to make the more difficult parts and assemble yourself
3) Pay someone to make the whole thin.

You can make a good machine with any of those options, it just depends how much time you can devote to it. With any of these options the forum will help you a lot to make decisions and find what works best. Currently I can't take on any more parts as I'm busy making another CNC router, which will take a long time to complete with the limited amount of time I can devote to it.

As you have found the hard way, all the Chinese machines make compromises and a lot of 'proper' machines in our price range do too. They're designed to be cheap so they skimp on important parts, but if you make it yourself or get it made to your specification you can make sure it is up to the job. Whichever way you decide it's a good idea to read around on the forum (and other sites) to see the common mistakes. Virtually all build logs start by making the same mistakes, and after much discussion they are generally corrected.

Boovey
17-06-2012, 05:20 PM