PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hello

Wobblycogs
28-07-2012, 05:45 PM
Hi, I've been planning on building a CNC machine for years and I finally think I'm starting to get the time and space to do it. My primary hobby is woodworking so the machine will mostly be working with wood but reading a few posts here I'm starting to get interested in machining some aluminium. My plan had been to build my machine mostly out of MDF but seeing the aluminium profiles a lot of people are using I'm starting to change my mind.

By day I own and run a small business that develops forecasting software which is a fancy way of saying I'm a software developer. I've got a some CAD experience mostly with SketchUp and 3D Studio although I have also had a play with AutoCAD. I've not yet had a tinker with any CAM software so that should be an interesting bit of research. Mechanically I have no formal training but I've built no end of things over the years. A couple of years ago I built my own bench mounted belt sander which I use a fair bit (even if the belt doesn't run quite true :apthy: ).

JAZZCNC
29-07-2012, 11:14 AM
Welcome.

Get the plans drawn and up for us to pull to pieces. . Er mean advise upon. .Lol

Good choice to ditch MDF idea it's only any good for spoil boards and throwing at the dog when it shit's on path..:dog:

If your thinking to cut aluminium then it will need to be built much stronger than you would a purely wood/plastic working machine and you'll need a much better spindle than a basic router can handle so be prepared to spend more money. Routers bearings don't handle the heat and forces cutting aluminium creates and will die quickly if doing lots of it or long jobs.

Post your ideas and ask the questions you think are dumb and between us we'll help you'll build a great machine.

rnr107
29-07-2012, 12:01 PM
Agree with Jazz on this one... Forget MDF, not only because of the strength problems but also it will move with time and therefore lose your precision.