PDA

View Full Version : Very Sick Lenze 534 Controller



Ricardoco
08-08-2012, 01:12 PM
Hi all, Ive a Lenze Speed Controller from My Boxford 260, and its Very sick, in fact it is in intensive care at this very moment, the problem appears to lie with a small black transformer a little smaller than 2"X2", there are very few markings on it of note, so i am hoping that someone has a 530 series controller that they could peek inside and tell me the output voltages from the transformer, or a part number or even some source of information like a circuit diagram, or something more than what is in the standard manual that ive downloaded..

Rick

Ricardoco
13-08-2012, 08:58 PM
Well if nobody on here knows about these controllers then im not sure where to get the information, because i'm all out of ideas. Isnt that just the way, the controller i get has virtually no information available.. Hmpfffff..

Rick

irving2008
13-08-2012, 10:11 PM
Had a quick look round, can't find anything of use that might help, just the user manual. I'd be happy to look at it for you, see if there's anything can be done. I did find a firm offering a repair service @ 159 I think, but that'll be just a board swap if they have one. What makes you think its the transformer, assuming it is a transformer (without seeing it I hazard a guess its not, but is a choke). Can you take a pic of the board in hi res as near perpendicular as you can?

Robin Hewitt
14-08-2012, 01:34 AM
If it's old and nothing is a charred wreck I always start by looking for aluminium can electrolytic capacitors. They vent and eventually dry out, crummy but so much cheaper than tantalum bead you can see why they get used. Fortunately they cost pennies so it's a good place to start. I fixed a BMW once by changing one capacitor, I used to fix computer monitors before they went for an external PSU's, simply by changing electrolytics.

Ricardoco
14-08-2012, 12:33 PM
Well its all voodoo to me, I understand what the components are and what hey do, i can even build my own circuits, some even quite complex, but this liettle thing is beyond me. Im not sure what the processes are on this board or how it acheives them.

All i know is you connect the mains to it, a motor to it, a huge transformer(choke) to it and a 0-10vdc feed to control the motor speed.

And this critter 6599 decided to show the world its insides, anouncing the event with a bang, as it let out its magic smoke..

It was sitting across the pins onf what i believe to be a transformer, or a choke as Irving has suggested, i will see if i can get a picture as you have suggested of the board posted.

Rick

Jonathan
14-08-2012, 07:25 PM
That little critter is available from RS if you want a direct replacement:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/c/passive-components/capacitors/paper-capacitors/ (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/paper-capacitors/0210487/)

Although judging by the photo it looks like you might already have got one...

Mad Professor
14-08-2012, 07:26 PM
Here is the Lenze 534 Controller.
http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/Faulty%20Lenze%20534%20Controller.jpg

And here is the dead transformer
http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/Lenze%20332703%20Transformer%20(1).jpg
http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/Lenze%20332703%20Transformer%20(2).jpg

The pri coil is dead, and also one of the two sec coils are dead.

The base footprint of the transformer is 32.6x27.6mm.

The shape/dimensions of the transformer and the pin layout is very close to some of the Myrra EI (http://www.myrra.com/productsmyrra) range of transformer's.
http://www.myrra.com/products/4400SERIES/link/ph_ei30_125.jpg

Once we find out what the sec coil voltage output should be of the lenze transformer, it will be very easy to find a drop in replacement transformer.

irving2008
14-08-2012, 08:26 PM
@MP... are the secondaries wired in series or parallel to that bridge rectifier?

Mad Professor
14-08-2012, 08:53 PM
If you are on about the big black unit bolted to the end plate, that is a VHF 28-08io5
Half Controlled Single Phase Rectifier Bridge (http://ixdev.ixys.com/DataSheet/l041.pdf), and the small transformer go's nowhere near it.

The two outputs of the lenze 332 703 transformer go direct to the white upright card. (Lenze 5031AH.1 328633 31 / 46).

irving2008
14-08-2012, 08:54 PM
OK, but still, are the secondaries series or parallel connected?

Other useful info I just found... the Lenze 530 series manual has this interesting pic:

6605
So we know it is an EI30 series and its 0.9VA... tho current EI30 are 0.6VA and 1VA, so I guess this might be a special. edit: or then again, maybe not; EI30-10.5 is 1VA or 0.9W for the 2x15 V: VB 1,0/2/15 (http://uk.farnell.com/block/vb1-0-2-15/transformer-1va-2-x-15v/dp/1131617) from Farnell (http://uk.farnell.com/block/vb1-0-2-15/transformer-1va-2-x-15v/dp/1131617) (alternate to Myrra)

Elsewhere in the manual it lists switching voltages for relay contacts as 20v so I'm going to hazard a guess this is a 15v secondary...

Ricardoco
15-08-2012, 03:07 PM
I Must say thank you to all who are helping with this thread/problem as i wouldnt have a clue without you all.

Rick.

SimonD
25-08-2012, 11:16 AM
Rick,

My Lenze 534 has blown the same transformer...
Did you replace wit the above recommendation and did it fix it?

Thanks
Simon

Ricardoco
27-08-2012, 03:02 AM
Rick,

My Lenze 534 has blown the same transformer...
Did you replace wit the above recommendation and did it fix it?

Thanks
Simon

We've not arrived at a decision yet as we are not sure what the correct secondry voltage should be, i was hoping someone would have a look at a working one but it appears nobody has voluteered yet.. LOL, I could be that nobody has one they can look at but i suspect the answer will come up soon.. I HOPE. Im really stuck as i cant use the machine without it...

Rick

SimonD
27-08-2012, 10:53 AM
Ah... ok thanks... That is where I am at too...
I've asked someone to measure their working one and will report back if I get anything.

Thanks
Simon

davethesteam
30-08-2012, 10:35 AM
Someone near me has just had the same problem!! I've just measured the voltage on my (working) unit and both secondaries are showing 15V RMS with the drive powered but the motor static.

Suggest checking the rectifiers as well as the suggestions above. it looks like a long term overload causing heating rather than a short term 'bang' scenario.

Good luck!!

David



OK, but still, are the secondaries series or parallel connected?

Other useful info I just found... the Lenze 530 series manual has this interesting pic:

6605
So we know it is an EI30 series and its 0.9VA... tho current EI30 are 0.6VA and 1VA, so I guess this might be a special. edit: or then again, maybe not; EI30-10.5 is 1VA or 0.9W for the 2x15 V: VB 1,0/2/15 (http://uk.farnell.com/block/vb1-0-2-15/transformer-1va-2-x-15v/dp/1131617) from Farnell (http://uk.farnell.com/block/vb1-0-2-15/transformer-1va-2-x-15v/dp/1131617) (alternate to Myrra)

Elsewhere in the manual it lists switching voltages for relay contacts as 20v so I'm going to hazard a guess this is a 15v secondary...

irving2008
30-08-2012, 11:13 AM
Ha... my "remote-voltage-sensing-fu" is working well :)

2x15 V: VB 1,0/2/15 (http://uk.farnell.com/block/vb1-0-2-15/transformer-1va-2-x-15v/dp/1131617) from Farnell 2.07p+VAT but min order value 20

Same (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/pcb-transformers/1739614/)from RS 3.74+VAT, free p&p but out of stock till Oct.

Same (http://cpc.farnell.com/block/avb1-0-2-15/transformer-1va-2-x-15v/dp/TF01265?in_merch=Products From This Range&MER=e-bb45-00001003)from CPC 3.18 inc VAT + P&P and in stock. Note: this one has 2 x 115v primary so may need minor mod to pcb?

SimonD
01-09-2012, 11:08 AM
I replaced the transformer yesterday... The output now pulses from on to off when commanded to a speed. Something else must have gone on mine too.
Time to replace with new...

Ricardoco
06-09-2012, 10:57 AM
Fingers crossed for me then LOL

Rick

Ricardoco
15-09-2012, 11:19 PM
I replaced the transformer yesterday... The output now pulses from on to off when commanded to a speed. Something else must have gone on mine too.
Time to replace with new...
Are you any where near resolving your lenze problem?

Mad Professor
17-09-2012, 01:57 PM
New transformer has been fitted but not yet tested, and I also found that C6 (.47J100) {470nF 100V Polyester Capacitor} has also failed, so that will need to be replaced.

I also don't trust the looks of C5 (4.7uf 63v Electric Capacitor) so I am also going to replace that.

Ricardoco
18-09-2012, 08:40 PM
Hey Buddy, You do what you think is best, If it saves me replacing the unit im up for it, and even if it turns out to be dead all we can do is try.

Rick

Mad Professor
27-09-2012, 05:41 PM
Small update.

Here is the Lenze 534 Controller before repair.
http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/Faulty%20Lenze%20534%20Controller.jpg


And again after repair.
http://www.mad-professor.co.uk/Misc/Repaired%20Lenze%20534%20Controller.jpg

Looks much better, but not yet tested.

i2i
27-09-2012, 11:19 PM
i can see whats wrong with it....

Ricardoco
28-09-2012, 02:24 AM
i can see whats wrong with it.... LOL if its not the missing fuse then tell LOL

i2i
28-09-2012, 11:28 AM
damn you've spotted it, ......lol.....

seriously though, behind the middle pot and the add in card there looks like a fuse (small reddish brown cylinder), which has been changed for a capacitor. I may be wrong on the fuse but it looks like one.

Mad Professor
28-09-2012, 08:19 PM
Here is the list of parts that I have replaced.

T1 - 2x15VAC 1.8VA Transformer.
C2 - 470uf 35v.
C4 - 470uf 35v.
C5 - 4.7uf 63v.
C6 - 47uf 35v.
C7 - .47uf (470nF) 100v.

irving2008
28-09-2012, 08:32 PM
But does it work??? Have you tried powering it up and seeing if you get reasonable volts in the obvious places?

Mad Professor
28-09-2012, 08:43 PM
I have tested it as far as I can without having the DC motor to test it with.

Will know more once Ricardoco gets it back middle of next week, and connects it up.

Ricardoco
28-09-2012, 09:21 PM
I replaced the transformer yesterday... The output now pulses from on to off when commanded to a speed. Something else must have gone on mine too.
Time to replace with new...
Maybe the Controller needs to be set up again as per the manual. (When i got mine in the begining it was pulsing) i tuned the pots as per the manual and it was fine for 2 yrs...

Rick

i2i
30-09-2012, 06:52 PM
i just had a mate look at the photo and he says although it looks like a fuse, it also looks like a cap. If it says C? on the board then it will be a capacitor.