PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hello everyone

Fivetide
21-08-2012, 09:35 PM
hi , I'm totally new to CNC , I hope to buy one of ebay soon and then use it to create some projects I've been wanting to do for years, hopefully i can get some help with them in here and share the joy :)

Web Goblin
21-08-2012, 10:07 PM
Hi, welcome to the forum.
Before you go buying a machine I would recommend posting an idea of what you want to do with the machine. Hopefully then some of the experts will then give some advice on what you need to buy or better still what you should build.

Fivetide
21-08-2012, 10:40 PM
Hi Goblin,
Basically I’m a bit of a closet artist combined with back shed amplifier builder; I also do casting with resins. I make cmoys and headphone amps from kits and I’m hoping to build some nice enclosures / Boxes etc, for them. I was a Riley’s snooker table’s wood machine apprentice although we didn’t have a CNC machine, although there was what I was told was a profiler which turned the legs and fluted them, so that could have been a CNC machine. So some of the enclosure’s I’m hoping to make out of rare woods and maybe do some marquetry, combine soft metals with the wood and even cold metal casting. The CNC with have two purposes, first to make aluminium prototype and then either cast it or engrave it or cut lumps and pour resin or profile some nice wood and combine them, like I said it’s been along project spanning a few years but my momentum is gathering pace and like the idea of making some wacky metal enclosures and psychedelic casesJ. I want to experiment with thin laminated layers of resin colours and then etch or relief work them.

I added a picture of one of my prototypes, the face is cast and bolted to a standard enclosure. Disregard the colours etc its just what I had left over from another project , but I hope you get the idea :)

blackburn mark
22-08-2012, 12:41 PM