PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hello All

petesos
30-08-2012, 06:31 PM
Hi All
My name is Pete
New to the CNC world , in fact I am just starting out , I have a HPC Laser and Quite a well kitted out workshop/blaster/bandsaw/planers/stone tools and am right in to that and now I want to understand CNCs as I want one to work stone with one

Pete

irving2008
30-08-2012, 06:43 PM
Hi Pete and welcome.

I know nothing about working stone with a CNC except a) it needs a sturdy machine cos stone is hard stuff (I did watch my granite worktops being cut n polished on a big one; very noisy, very messy) and b) it needs copious amounts of water...

I'm not aware of anyone else CNC'ing stone so it could be an interesting learning curve for us all...

petesos
30-08-2012, 06:50 PM
Hi Bud
When I get it sorted I will post up a few photys or videos But having Probs with machine supplier just now but patience is a virtue so the Mrs says

Fivetide
31-08-2012, 04:08 PM
Hi Pete ..welcome.. I have been thinking about soft / soap stone milling .. so I'll be very interested to see how you get along.

Lee Roberts
31-08-2012, 05:00 PM
Seeing somthing done with stone would be new here thats for sure, looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

petesos
31-08-2012, 07:07 PM
Hi All
The tooling i used on my milling machine at work and on my pillar drill at home was a diamond encrusted bit off the shelf part, and what i found was as long as the feed rate was slowed down enough and I had water continualy cooling the bit and then recycling the water back to the bit it worked very well.