PDA

View Full Version : BUILD LOG: This is my first BUILD please help.

DigiSoft
19-10-2012, 10:37 PM
Hi. I am researching this field for months and I decided to make one. I ordered almost all parts except the linear rails. I am going to make them.
I have all the parts but I'll post pictures tomorrow because it is late now to take pictures :fat:. Anyway this is the parts info:

4 x Axis Driver 2M542 4.2A & Breakout interface board for Router system for CNC
2 x ballscrew RM1605-1300mm (for dual X axis)

1 x ballscrew RM1605-900mm (for Y axis)

1 x ballscrew RM1605-250mm (for Z axis)

4 x flexible couplers

3 x NEMA23 425 oz-in CNC stepper motor /3.0A (two for X, one for Y)

1 x NEMA23 287 oz-in CNC stepper motor (for Z)

4 set BK12/BF12 ballscrew end support
12 x SBR20UU BLOCKS
3 x Cable drag chain wire carrier 10*20mm 1000mm (40")

I have all of this parts and I hope I am on the right track, I'll be so frustrated if I made some mistake because my budget IS VERY VERYYYYYY TIGHT.
Anyway I would like a little help.

1. What is the best alu plate thickness I should use for the Z construction and the gantry. I was thinking of using 20mm plates. Is that good?
2. How should I place the linear support rails on the Y axis? Should they be mounted on the front of the alu plate or one at the top and one at the bottom? What is better system?

I have some drawings on paper but still nothing on PC and I am not sure if I make because I am not that good in 3D software.
Please help me with this first questions. THANK YOU

PS: Like I said I'll post pictures tomorrow.

D.C.
19-10-2012, 11:59 PM
Sketchup is free and really easy to learn, there are some very good tutorials here:

Sketchup for Woodworkers - Home (http://sketchupforwoodworkers.com/)

You can import all the standard things like your ballscrews etc straight into the program so you don't have to worry about trying to draw them.

DigiSoft
20-10-2012, 12:23 AM