PDA

View Full Version : Help! Boxford 125 TCL CNC lathe

rochie52
20-11-2012, 12:35 PM
Hi folks, new to all this.

Firstly, I am an Engineering teacher in a school in Cork, Ireland. I have only recently began working in the school and I am currently sorting, tidying and just trying to improve what equipment is here.

My problem is with a Boxford 125 TCL CNC lathe. It is currently not working; It is not plugged in, not connected to a computer, nothing - it is simply gathering dust. The previous teacher has retired and anyone here in the department cannot remember it working for at least 10 years, possibly longer (your guess is as good as mine....)

I have searched everywhere in the room for documentation on it and I haven't found anything. I understand that I will have to spend money on it, but I'm not sure what sort of a budget will be available to me.

To be honest, I haven't a clue where to start or what to do with it, but I want to sort it out.

Any advice is greatly appreciated guys.

Kev

kingcreaky
20-11-2012, 01:48 PM
Hi 'sir' (pun on teacher)

Ok, I am new to this, but have read a lot in the past few weeks and I do not doubt I will be corrected if I am wrong. But I believe the most simple thing you can do is 'convert' it. Think im right in thinking the native Boxford equiptment used BBC micro's. which im sure you will agree are long since any use to man or beast.

Most of the home made CNC routers / millers etc you see on here and on youtube, are done with components that make up the automation side of the cnc, essentially you buy some stepper motors mount them to the machine. you then buy a controller for each stepper, and a suitable power supply. you then connect these 'controllers' to a break-out board and the break-out board is compatable with most of the reasonably cheap CAD/CAM software available in the modern internet age. Mach3 is a common tool used to control the machine and will take DXF files staight from autocad etc.

perhaps something like this