PDA

View Full Version : Spindle Stop?

manofgresley
07-01-2013, 02:11 PM
Hi all.

Firstly, many thanks for all the help you have given me so far, especially with my LED + Limit Switch query.

While in my garage today, doing some wiring on my cabinet, I suddenly had a thought.

My Mill is on a standard 3 pin,13 amp plug, obviously it will be on a separate supply to the cabinet, my thought was this, what happens if the fuse blows to my Mill, will the Drivers keep on turning the Stepper motors, ie DISASTER. Please remember, I have no knowledge of Mach 3 yet, that's my next big learning curve,I assume that the electronics would detect an increase in Torque on the Stepper Motors and then shut down the electronics, trouble is i do not like assuming, because it makes an ASS OF U & ME, looking forward to your advice.

Regards

Ray

Ricardoco
07-01-2013, 03:59 PM
Hi all.

Firstly, many thanks for all the help you have given me so far, especially with my LED + Limit Switch query.

While in my garage today, doing some wiring on my cabinet, I suddenly had a thought.

My Mill is on a standard 3 pin,13 amp plug, obviously it will be on a separate supply to the cabinet, my thought was this, what happens if the fuse blows to my Mill, will the Drivers keep on turning the Stepper motors, ie DISASTER. Please remember, I have no knowledge of Mach 3 yet, that's my next big learning curve,I assume that the electronics would detect an increase in Torque on the Stepper Motors and then shut down the electronics, trouble is i do not like assuming, because it makes an ASS OF U & ME, looking forward to your advice.

Regards