PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: New Boy



Russ
16-01-2013, 07:18 PM
Hi fellas.....well here goes for my first post........so I'm just getting into the whole CNC Machining thing through my work in 3D Modelling (although not precision Engineering based) but I've decided that rather than wasting my hard earnt on keep buying fripperies such as more Motorbikes and Cars Etc. I got the idea that I'd like to buy myself a 4 Axis CNC milling machine capable of light production and prototyping something along the lines of syilx5/6/7 tormach 1100 either new or used all recommendations welcome as I have no experience of these things (but I'm a quick learner), I've also been looking at the Noomeo Optinum RE 3D Reverse Engineering Scanner (expensive) but definitely floats my boat as it's very portable and requires no markers and as far as I can see if I'm to machine parts for my bikes / cars I'll be needing this sort of tool for scanning existing surfaces and parts......what do you think am I too ambitious.....there not a bad first post......just waiting to see who'll be the first to flame me.....LOL

kingcreaky
16-01-2013, 08:05 PM
Good evening sir.


I've decided that rather than wasting my hard earnt on keep buying fripperies such as more Motorbikes and Cars Etc. I got the idea that I'd like to buy myself a 4 Axis CNC milling machine

:-D snap. first step cnc, second world domination.

Just looking up a Noomeo Optinum ... sounds like a transformer... :D

youve come to the right place.. read some build logs look at some youtube videos you'll soon catch the bug

Russ
16-01-2013, 11:14 PM
World Domination......Mwahaaa......

I doubt it but it wont be for the want of trying....haha......you'll love the Noomeo I think it's a tip top tool unfortunately it's 18k eek!! It will enable onsite scanning of existing parts and pulling them into your preferred 3D modelling software to produce moulds etc or to redesign.....cool....sounds like the start of a business LOL

oscar
17-01-2013, 12:46 AM
Welcome russ. If you get the 3D scanner will you offer free use to forum members (ie. me) lol

Russ
17-01-2013, 03:17 PM
Welcome russ. If you get the 3D scanner will you offer free use to forum members (ie. me) lol

free use for a fee of course.......LOL :D

Ricardoco
17-01-2013, 06:42 PM
free use for a fee of course.......LOL :D
Ok it looks like you will be machining Ali i expect, and it sounds like you will be having a go at the sort of stuff i do. As for scanners well when you get your machine up and running you can get a touch probe, pop it on the machine and use it with the software to generate a point cloud, this in turn will allow you to copy parts.. no need for super priced scanners..

This is the tool i use.

Touch probe cmm digitizing renishaw haas fadal cnc mill lathe router engraver | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Touch-probe-cmm-digitizing-renishaw-haas-fadal-cnc-mill-lathe-router-engraver-/150931049789?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2324310d3d)



Rick

Russ
17-01-2013, 07:48 PM
Ok it looks like you will be machining Ali i expect, and it sounds like you will be having a go at the sort of stuff i do. As for scanners well when you get your machine up and running you can get a touch probe, pop it on the machine and use it with the software to generate a point cloud, this in turn will allow you to copy parts.. no need for super priced scanners..

This is the tool i use.

Touch probe cmm digitizing renishaw haas fadal cnc mill lathe router engraver | eBay (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Touch-probe-cmm-digitizing-renishaw-haas-fadal-cnc-mill-lathe-router-engraver-/150931049789?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2324310d3d)

Rick

yeah Rick a perfectly good solution I've also seen the Tormach 3D Scanning tool thats fits into there milling machine which again is a great solution.....I do get the feeling that I do go a bit OTT but with the Noomeo Optinum I will be able to sell an onsite 3D Scanning service being it's totally portable and self powered but the payoff is the initial outlay

BedlamRik
19-01-2013, 01:32 AM
Hi Russ, Welcome etc.

Since when are Bikes fripperies?...(unless your on about push rods , then I'll have it :eagerness:)

Kin how Much! Noomeo mucho Deenaro more likeio , It looks shiney though!

martin54
19-01-2013, 02:01 AM
Welcome to the forum Rick, not sure what sort of demand there is for on site scanning but if there is a decent market then you would be able to recoup the price of the scanner in a relatively short time. I would do a bit more research & if the market is there & you have the funds then go ahead & purchase.

D.C.
19-01-2013, 04:30 AM
Don't bother forking out loads of money on a Noomeo Optinum, you will not be able to do what you want to do with it.

The Noomeo isn't a laser scanner, it just does digital imaging processing to generate a point cloud and in real world use you only get 0.5mm resolution at best apparently. Given that you can do just as much for free using an iphone, why pay lots of money?

Russ
19-01-2013, 11:49 AM
@ DC............+/- 0.1mm accuracy (that's about the average thickness of a human hair) without splitting hairs (see whay I done there) I would of thought that was good enough for most applications.......well it is for me see below......of course unless you can point me in the direction of a similar device with better accuracy at a similar price?
TECHNICAL

Multi Mode

From 10,000 – 500,000pts/shoot



Accuracy

Up to 0.1 mm



Spatial Resolution: up to

0.3 mm



Texture ( Colour / Pts )

Greyscale ( colour option )



Working Distance

400 mm



Depth of Field

150 mm



Field of View

150 x 165 cm



Recommended dimensional Scan

From 10 cm3 to 1.2m3



Acquisition Time

10 ms



Software Interface

Numisoft RE acquisition and optimization software.



Export File Formats

High Quality PointCloud data



Interface

USB 2.0



Shock & Vibration proof

Standard



Weight

1.9 kg



Embedded Batteries Autonomy

1 day



Regulatory Compliance

CE



Noomeo OptiNum RE package

OptiNum RE scannerwith its embedded battery, Numisoft RE Software, Power charger, USB cable,robust carrying case,



Recommended Package for OptiNum scanner..

Geomagic Wrap RE Software



Computer Spec

CPU:i7Quad core, RAM:8Gb; Graphics: NVidia FX 38000, with 1Gb memory, Windows 7 Pro – 64bit (mandatory )

deisel
19-01-2013, 01:07 PM
It seems a good craic to me russ i say go for it and good luck, i get a bit of scanning work done with a couple of lads,they always seem busy,use portable scanning and offer on site service.
Some of the quotes i used to get for scanning work were hair raising!

D.C.
19-01-2013, 01:26 PM
Note it says 'Up to 0.1 mm'

What people trying to sell their product claim and reality are often very different things, if you have a search around the web there are people who have used it and were only able to get a much lower accuracy. If it is good enough for your needs that is great but I would test it first on the most demanding things you will need it for. That said if you need portabl to offer it as service and are confident it can pay for itself that is different to an investment that will only be used inhouse.

I was refering to 123Dcatch when I mentioned doing it for with an iphone btw, have you tried that to see if it is any good?

Russ
21-01-2013, 06:54 PM
@DC

I'll check it out