PDA

View Full Version : Tile / Repeat G-Code?

Tenson
23-01-2013, 12:11 PM
Hi,

I have made some G-Code and tested it and tuned it all as I want. Now I'd like to produce it numerous times across a large sheet of material. Is there a way to 'tile' the G-Code so I don't have to program it all again many times over?

I guess there must be a way to copy the G-code with all the co-ordinates off-set by a fixed amount?

I hope so!

motoxy
23-01-2013, 12:53 PM
I would think that that would involve a loop to change an offset. Check out this link it may help

G-Code Tutorial: Conditions and Looping (http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCCNCGCodeIFGOTOWHEN.htm)

Bruce

Jonathan
23-01-2013, 01:18 PM
If you use mach 3 I think one of the built-in wizards does what you need.

Tenson
23-01-2013, 01:24 PM
Thanks Jonathan. Any help on which wizard it is? I've never used any wizards before.

Swarfing
23-01-2013, 10:35 PM
Check out nesting

John S
24-01-2013, 12:23 AM
Do it properly and use G54 work off sets.

read this.

Cnc Programming Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Practical Cnc Programming - Peter Smid - Google Books (http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=JNnQ8r5merMC&pg=PA124&lpg=PA124&dq=g54+0ffset&source=bl&ots=PYRIRT0PvL&sig=vGyWpYsWly8mDyp-1eWZtGO740s&hl=en&sa=X&ei=SXAAUfmbNtLK0AXgr4CYDQ&ved=0CFEQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q=g54%200ffset&f=false)

Tenson
24-01-2013, 12:41 AM
Wow, the whole book is online for free? :topsy_turvy:

D.C.
24-01-2013, 02:23 AM
Wow, the whole book is online for free? :topsy_turvy:

Nope that is just a preview.

JAZZCNC
24-01-2013, 02:51 AM
Do it properly and use G54 work off sets.

read this.

Cnc Programming Handbook: A Comprehensive Guide to Practical Cnc Programming - Peter Smid - Google Books (http://books.google.co.uk/books?id=JNnQ8r5merMC&pg=PA124&lpg=PA124&dq=g54+0ffset&source=bl&ots=PYRIRT0PvL&sig=vGyWpYsWly8mDyp-1eWZtGO740s&hl=en&sa=X&ei=SXAAUfmbNtLK0AXgr4CYDQ&ved=0CFEQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q=g54%200ffset&f=false)