PDA

View Full Version : 3 axis driver...Fuses keep blowing



dudz
27-01-2013, 09:57 PM
I have these drivers ; www.easy-cnc.com * Your best option in driver boards for CNC machines (http://www.easy-cnc.com/3axisdriver.html)

I have used it dozens of times without problems. Now the X and Y axis fuses keep blowing as soon as the PSU is switched on. I have tried disconnecting the pc input and motor outputs and then switching on power. The same two fuses blow instantly. I can find no connection problems. I am assuming two of the optocouplers or IC drivers has burnt out (which can be replaced) although I do not know where to buy replacements.

Web Goblin
28-01-2013, 06:10 AM
Try RS Components. Have you tried unplugging the optos to see if that still blows the fuses? There is also a transistor or voltage regulator standing up just behind the fuse. Whats the part number on it? This could be faulty as well.

dudz
28-01-2013, 05:40 PM
Try RS Components. Have you tried unplugging the optos to see if that still blows the fuses? There is also a transistor or voltage regulator standing up just behind the fuse. Whats the part number on it? This could be faulty as well.

I took the two stepper motor driver chips out (x and Y). Put new fuses in... now all 3 power LED's come on and the fuses don't blow. Chip number A3977SEDT A 1201 917M

I checked RS ....
Buy Motor Driver ICs Stepper Motor Driver, Dual Full PLCC44 Allegro Microsystems A3977SEDTR-T online from RS for next day delivery. (http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/motor-driver-ics/6807194/?searchTerm=a3977sedt&relevancy-data=636F3D3226696E3D4931384E4B6E6F776E41734D504E2 66C753D656E266D6D3D6D61746368616C6C7061727469616C2 6706D3D5E5B5C772D5C2E2F252C5D2B2426706F3D313326736 E3D592673743D4D414E5F504152545F4E554D4245522675737 43D6133393737736564742677633D424F544826)

dudz
28-01-2013, 05:41 PM
Then here is Ebay.... (I think they are the same spec ? )
NEW Allegro A3977 STEPPING STEPPER MOTOR DRIVER | eBay (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300773733351&fromMakeTrack=true)

Web Goblin
28-01-2013, 06:56 PM
Look like thats the problem then if the fuses are intact. The only real way to prove it though is by getting some new ones and plugging them in. Both ICs you have linked to look the same so take your pick of what you want. RS might be a bit more expensive but you should get them a lot quicker. You might want to get a few spares as well.

dudz
28-01-2013, 07:05 PM
Look like thats the problem then if the fuses are intact. The only real way to prove it though is by getting some new ones and plugging them in. Both ICs you have linked to look the same so take your pick of what you want. RS might be a bit more expensive but you should get them a lot quicker. You might want to get a few spares as well.

I pulled the Z axis IC and put it in the X axis slot, powered up, and no blown fuses. So great. I have bought 4 from Ebay as RS wont ship to France, and the RS in France is Twice the price plus tax plus delivery.