PDA

View Full Version : Dc servo driver



Treemonkey
30-01-2013, 09:15 PM
Hi all,

I bought 3 dc servo drivers off eBay and cannot really find any information on the case to get any further detailed information :(

I have the matching motors for the drives which are wired into blocks which slot in so they are no problem.

This leaves 7 terminal screw blocks.. I've done a test using an old atx psu powering it up using 12v and the motors ran. The supply was connected to terminals 5 and 7 so I assume that 6 is for a ground. Terminals 1,2 and 3,4 are respectively shorted with bits of wire.

so can anyone help me figure out what 1,2 and 3,4 are and how I may control it?

I can add a picture tomorrow if that will help.

many thanks,
Sam

gavztheouch
30-01-2013, 10:38 PM
Is there and make or model number on the drives?

Treemonkey
30-01-2013, 10:46 PM
Nothing at all, I'm led to believe that they are made by Japan servo co. ltd since they match the motors but from the limited information on the motors I cannot find anything more about them...

Treemonkey
31-01-2013, 11:24 AM
These are a couple pics of the drives in-case my description was a little off

81078108

GEOFFREY
31-01-2013, 12:15 PM
Silly thought, don't suppose it has an encoder? G.

Treemonkey
31-01-2013, 12:45 PM
Hi G,

I do believe the motors have encoders attached, I can add pictures of the motors tonight If it helps!

Cheers,
Sam

bikepete
31-01-2013, 12:53 PM
Might be worth removing the cover from one of the drivers and having a look to see if there is any lettering on the circuit board which might give a clue.

GEOFFREY
31-01-2013, 04:42 PM
Hi Sam, I only mentioned the encoder in case that was the answer to the extra wires! G.

Treemonkey
31-01-2013, 04:57 PM
Hi G,

the encoder is connected using a push in connection. I can only guess that 1,2 and 3,4 can somehow be used to control the motion. I guess that when one set is not shorted the motor will run in reverse leaving the other one as a step input? I will update the thread later when I've tried!

Cheers,
Sam

Treemonkey
01-02-2013, 08:10 AM
Hi all,

I've had another tinker and these combinations will start the motor spinning (always same direction):

Pins shorted:
1 , 4
1 , 2 and 3 , 4

I have a multimeter If there are any readings that may help work out the pin configuration.

Treemonkey
11-02-2013, 09:55 AM
Hi all,

I have spent another couple of hours tinkering with this driver, It apepars that pin 4 accepts a pwm signal which controls the speed rather than setting a position, and that pin 3's is used to vary the torque, IE when grounded the motor increases speed alot.

Could do with a guide! figuring out electronics for noobs lol.

After doing alot of reading, the motor has hall sensors + an encoder (2 wires) + wires to windings. So I assume that if there is an encoder then either that information is made available via an I/O or it must accept a position signal?

Any help or Tips / ideas most welcome!

Cheers,
Sam

m_c
11-02-2013, 07:16 PM
I'd guess it's most likely an analogue servo drive that takes +/-10V to control the speed, however they generally wouldn't need to see the motor encoder, as the motion controller would deal with the position side. Unless it's a motor with built in field sensors that the drive needs to see inorder to actually power the motor correctly (I'm having a complete blank about the proper name of this style of motor!).

Any chance of some pictures of the motors?