PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Sooo much to learn...

techcobweb
04-02-2013, 11:16 PM
I'm a software engineer - I can already anticipate the jokes on not being a "proper" engineer on this forum, so perhaps I should re-phrase that to "programmer". Perhaps there are some good jokes I've not heard yet ?

I'm looking to acquire some new skills and solving some problems by building a CNC router.

A few years ago I started playing with arduinos, micro-electronics, and physical computing.
I've always built models, had a go at DIY with OK results when I have the time.
Half the enjoyment is in figuring things out and learning new skills along the way...

I've been reading about CNC routers for 6 months, but only really considered building my own as a possibility since
discovering this forum. Some of the build logs are inspiring !

Also, I've been very impressed at how friendly everyone is... (please keep it up folks!).

I can see it's possible for others; others who clearly doubt their ability to overcome all the problems and finish a build they are happy with
... which is exactly what I'm feeling now. Slight trepidation. Slightly terrified of being ripped to pieces, but still wanting to have a go.

I'm lucky enough to have a garage with some room... cars sleep outside ... which is freezing,
so top of my list is to get some insulation and draught-proofing in there to make it a more pleasant work area.
Has anyone else done this ? Any tips on a cozy set-up appreciated.

Wondering also if I do sort out the draughts, whether it'll be too damp to store any precious man-toys out there.
It's not really damp, just enough moisture in the air in a cold building I think, maybe not helped by a freezer sitting out there either, or that it's a detached garage stood on its own, but it is enough to make tools rusty if left un-oiled/greased for extended periods.