PDA

View Full Version : Add Operator Message in G-code?



Tenson
07-02-2013, 12:36 AM
I'm sure this must be an obvious thing but a quick Google didn't tell me. How can I add a message to G-Code that will be displayed when running the code? I want to do a machine stop for a manual tool change and it would be nice for it to remind me what tool and what RPM to use.

Mach3 has a little text prompt where it gives errors and tells you when it is in E-Stop etc.. I assume text can be made to display here from the code.

m_c
07-02-2013, 12:53 AM
Just add a comment in brackets on the line of the code you want the message displayed, i.e.-
T0101 (comment to tell me to fit tool 1)

Tenson
07-02-2013, 12:53 AM
Ah-ha! In Dolphin you can add your own line entry to the code by clicking 'Insert' under the machining menu. Then for Mach3 you simply need to put brackets (...) around what you want to say and it will be a comment that pops up at he bottom of the screen :)

Tenson
07-02-2013, 12:53 AM
Thanks M_C I got there :)

Jonathan
07-02-2013, 02:43 AM
For anyone who uses LinuxCNC you can insert the following comment:

(msg, your message here)

Then it will display everything after the comma as a message.

JAZZCNC
07-02-2013, 02:20 PM
Just add a comment in brackets on the line of the code you want the message displayed, i.e.-
T0101 (comment to tell me to fit tool 1)

Ah ah can tell You've been playing with them lathes too much. . .Lol ( T0101 is tool number for lathes)

m_c
07-02-2013, 06:39 PM
Je n'ais comprende mill :whistle: