PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Seeking advice on a CNC setup for (one off) machining carbon fiber plate

Tomcat
03-03-2013, 01:43 PM
Hi
I'm a total newbie living in Manchester with a sudden need to get up to scratch on CNC machining. Basically, I'm working on a research project (UAV/drone) which requires components to be cut from 1.5 x 400 x 500 mm and 2 x 400 x 500 mm carbon fibre composite boards using a CNC router. Unfortunately, I've recently found out that a couple of our workshop guys are off on long term sick leave (hopefully not carbon fiber dust! :uncomfortableness:), meaning that there is a several month backlog on jobs on our CNC equipment (this basically kills my project deadline). I do have access to alternative facilities (ShopBot PRS standardCNC), but will only be able to get limited training on the equipment. I realize that CF is not a straight forward material to machine in terms of quality of finish, tool life and health and safety, so I thought I best come to the experts for advice.

The setup does have an extractor and is in a well ventilated area, and I intend to use a respirator with Hepa filters and disposable clothing during operation. The CNC does not have any intrinsic cooling for the end mill as far as I know (i.e. air/water jet) so this may be a concern given the abrasive nature of the material. However my main concern lies in the choice of end mill needed to cut the CF. I know that the pros use diamond coated tooling, but I cannot really justify the expense (I will probably need 1 mm and 2 mm (and possibly 3mm) cutting diameter to cut the different levels of detail in the design [see attached]). Also, given that this is a one off, I don't want to pay £50+ for bits when they could still snap anyway. The cutting run will probably be a few meters max (nb: cutting sheets in the diagram are 400 x 500 mm).

I was thinking of using a carbide two flute end mill (see below) running at 15000 RPM with a feed rate of ~ 500 mm per minute.