PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Complete Beginner requiring advice!

Robduffer
09-04-2013, 10:26 PM
Hello all.

I am about to start researching into building a CNC router to be able to cut up to 610 x 1220mm (not sure on the Z axis Travel yet!). I require to cut soft wood, MDF and Hard wood of varying thicknesses.

Any help would be very much appreciated, for the plans, parts required, electronics, etc etc. because at the moment I am a complete novice.

thankfully, being in the Royal Navy I have a friend that has offered the use of the workshop to produce any of the machined parts (for the normal payment of a packet of Chocolate Hobnob's of coarse!!).

Please help if you can.

Rob

GEOFFREY
09-04-2013, 11:19 PM
Hi Rob, wellcome to the forum. I suspect your friend may well have an uncle on this site! Good luck with your build when you start. G.

martin54
10-04-2013, 12:22 AM
I don't know, there should be a law against using Royal navy workshops in this way.

D.C.
10-04-2013, 01:45 AM
Welcome to the forum, it is always worth having a good read of the build logs to see what people are using and problems that crop up.

Router Build Logs (http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/router-build-logs/)

I'm not one of the resident experts but I have read a fair amount of the advice so I'll try to condense some of what you will probably find by doing lots reading.

For the dimensions and materials you have specified, 1610 ballscrews would probably be fine, you can order them from linearmotionbearings2008 on ebay.
If you can afford proper linear rail, buy it. If you can't afford it or don't need super accurate cutting, use supported round rail. You can order this from the same guy on ebay that sells the ballscrews. Do not even think about using unsupported rails or an angry Yorkshireman will beat you with them.

The popular 3.1Nm steppers from cnc4you will probably work for you.
Nema23 3.1Nm (http://www.cnc4you.co.uk/index.php?route=product/category&path=20_26)