PDA

View Full Version : Best place to buy parts for a cheap first CNC.

Boscoe
16-07-2013, 03:01 PM
So I am looking to build a CNC machine designed for cutting wood and aluminium. I haven't fully decided but I think I want a cutting area of about 750mm x 500mm. I don't have any access to any milling machines currently and so would like to buy a Z axis kit to make sure it's good. I'm only a real budget because I'm a student and so probably have around £750 to spend over around 6 months so this will be a gradual long term project. I plan to use supported rail and timing belts for cost, if it's worth it I will go with screws. I've been looking around and ebay seems to be the cheapest place to buy this sort of stuff (I need everything) however I think I will put an advert in the wanted section to see if anyone has anything second hand.

I'm an electronic engineer and very skillful with my hands and designing mechanical objects so a challenge is not scary!

Thanks
Boscoe.

Jonathan
16-07-2013, 06:13 PM
You wont cut aluminium using timing belts and no screws, it's simply not stiff enough. £750 is probably just about enough to make the machine with ballscrews, but not if you have to pay people to make parts.

martin54
16-07-2013, 06:15 PM
Welcome to the forum, have a read through some of the build logs to get you started, you may well find you need to look at building it over a longer time period so you can save more money for the project.

Boscoe
16-07-2013, 06:16 PM
You wont cut aluminium using timing belts and no screws, it's simply not stiff enough. £750 is probably just about enough to make the machine with ballscrews, but not if you have to pay people to make parts.

Not even if I use wide belts?

Boscoe
16-07-2013, 06:17 PM
Is ebay the best place to get cheap items? Is the quality of the items acceptable?

Jonathan
16-07-2013, 06:20 PM