PDA

View Full Version : Motor control



crazy horse
12-03-2009, 10:57 PM
I am looking at building a Rockcliff machine. Having modeled it from the plans I can understand the mechanics of it and will learn its weaknesses soon enough.

what components are required to make it move?
PC with design software and then postprocessor (mach 3).
A controller is then connected to parallel port. Is the controller also the power supply for the motors?

I would like to buy what's required even before I start the build so that I can setup the motors and get them spinning asap.

Having purchased the MDF, I will hopefully start a build log soon.

And does the controller also manage the limit switches too?

Skittles, have have you looked into this yet?

Gary
13-03-2009, 07:20 AM
You will need three stepper motors, three drivers, power supply powerful enough for three axis and a breakout board.
Either the FL57STH76-2808 or the M60STH88 motor would work, with the M60 motor offering a lot more power.
These motors work very well with the MSD542, and we suggest two PS407 power supplies.
Have a look on our webshop, we should have everything you need?



I am looking at building a Rockcliff machine. Having modeled it from the plans I can understand the mechanics of it and will learn its weaknesses soon enough.

what components are required to make it move?
PC with design software and then postprocessor (mach 3).
A controller is then connected to parallel port. Is the controller also the power supply for the motors?

I would like to buy what's required even before I start the build so that I can setup the motors and get them spinning asap.

Having purchased the MDF, I will hopefully start a build log soon.

And does the controller also manage the limit switches too?

Skittles, have have you looked into this yet?

Lee Roberts
13-03-2009, 03:23 PM
Can anyone add to this or comment?
I appreciate your help but am always a little wary of salemans advice. Lee what did you use?

I used 3 of the FL57STH76-2808 motors, 3 of the MSD542, i only used 1 PSU however.

Smiler
13-03-2009, 08:31 PM
Can anyone add to this or comment?
I appreciate your help but am always a little wary of salemans advice. Lee what did you use?

You can take Gary's (Zapp) advice to the bank Mr Horse.:D

I bought my motors, drivers and PSU's from Zapp (+ballscrews etc)and they are a first rate outfit IMO. I went for driver kit 1 (http://www.slidesandballscrews.com/cnc-driver-kit-1-p-156.html?cPath=58&osCsid=b72ceefc11c03f9bb8d3c11830a9d1ca) and it has been faultless. Your router is going to be quite a bit larger than the plans with consequent increases in weight to move around so I'd go for the more powerful 60 motor and 2 PSU's.

You are also intimating this will only be a stepping stone to a better machine. The more powerful moteor will pay you back then as you will maybe find your next machine will be even bigger/heavier. I skipped the stepping stone bit and went for the full monty :)
Regards, Jeff.