PDA

View Full Version : desktop CNC to cut alloy

8900120d
25-07-2013, 02:17 PM
im looking for a cheap desktop hobby cnc machine to cut alloy around 1/2 inch thick, and 25cm wide.

im totally new to this, any ideas on what i should look out for in a cnc machine?

any recommendations ?:encouragement:

irving2008
25-07-2013, 05:36 PM
Oh dear, lets start with the basics...

1. what alloy?
2. do you mean a workpiece of 25cm x 25cm (you only said 'wide').
3. what do you want to do, engrave the surface or cut full depth pockets/holes?
4. where is the machine going to be used, in a workshop or a spare room
5. how quickly? Is a 24hour run going to be an issue?
6. whats your budget?

jcb121
25-07-2013, 05:42 PM
If by alloy you mean alu, then it depends on your definition of cheap!

My machine will cut alu as long as my tool allows it, but I am only going a mm down with a feed rate around 1000mm per min.

So basic operations can take a while.

dazza
25-07-2013, 05:54 PM
If your dead set on not knocking up your own then have a look through this thread in the link,im not recommending the machine but its as cheap as you,ll get off the shelf ,there all over ebay and youtube,so see and read about its capabilities if thats not for you then i cant think of any other cheap off the shelf options,
http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/mills-routers-lathes-commercial-machines/4574-reveiw-stepmores-sm-3040-cnc-router-mill.html

8900120d
26-07-2013, 12:43 AM
thanks for the replies, another question, where do you guys buy your alu blocks from?

also how long do u guys think a Chinese 3040 cnc would take to cut an object like this :

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HOBAO-HYPER-7-PRO-CNC-REAR-SHOCK-TOWER-NEAR-MINT-/221258770165?pt=UK_ToysGames_RadioControlled_JN&hash=item33840ce6f5

dazza
26-07-2013, 10:21 AM
aluminium warehouse and asc metals seems to be favourite for alu plate bar etc

m_c
26-07-2013, 11:06 AM
I'd personally avoid Aluminium Warehouse.