PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply Questions and Advice Needed

timellis
06-09-2013, 07:32 PM
I am putting together a cnc based guitar pickup winder and need some help with power. The winder has 2 stepper motors - one rated at 3.4v / 1.68a and the other at 2.8v / 1.68a

How do I power these motors? Do I need 2 power supply's for the different voltages?

Also any recommendations on good, cheap, easy to set up drives and breakout board would be appreciated.

As you can tell, I am very new at this. If this project goes well I am going to build a cnc for guitar body's and necks.

JAZZCNC
06-09-2013, 10:06 PM
If you work a rule of thumb Max 20x the rated voltage of the lowest motor you'll be ok. . . .BUT . . The drives you use may be the limiting factor more than the motors.? . . . For instance if you take the 2.8 and 20x rule then thats 56Vdc so you'll need drives capably handling higher than this value.
Mostly drives come in 2 basic voltage flavours upto 50Vdc and upto 75-80vdc. So if you buy 50V drives then you'll need to run these motors around 44-45vdc Max, you never run at drives maximum rated voltage has steppers generate electricity at times and can pass this back and blow drives so safety factor needs allowing.

Now you don't need to run these steppers at 56v they will happily work at lower voltages like 24-36Vdc but at a reduced speed/torque. Most drives won't work below 24Vdc.

Before recommending a drive, Even thou they will probably easily do what you want for guitar winder I will recommend that you don't buy the cheap TB chip based All-in-one boards has they are very poor quality and can be unreliable, they are also easily damaged in the hands of inexperienced users.!! . . .Stay clear is my advice.

Now if you want to buy drives that can migrate to a CNC machine then you'll want to buy decent drives and not skimp, it's false economy and leads to poor and often frustrating results.