PDA

View Full Version : What tooling to drill lots of 10mm holes 45mm deep?

AlanMJackson
09-01-2014, 05:21 PM
Hi,

I've got a homemade CNC machine, 3 axis, mostly made of MDF. I'm new to CNC machines.

I want to drill lots and lots of 10mm holes in wood. The holes will go right through the wood and are 45mm deep.

What kind of tool would you use for that?

Right now I've fixed a bosch hand-drill in the machine and I'm drilling the holes with a 10mm brad point drill bit. To get a good finish on the surfaces I'm drill from both sides and meeting in the middle. If I try drilling all the way through it just blows out badly on the bottom surface.

I'm not getting that great a finish anyway (the drill is pulling fibres up) and it is taking an age! The maximum feed speed I'm using is 50mm/min and my program to drill 120 holes is taking over 90 minutes.

I imagine I want to fit the router head and put some kind of end mill in there but I don't know what.

Any help very gratefully received!

Lee Roberts
09-01-2014, 08:46 PM
Hi Alan welcome to the forum!

Is the blowout on the bottom because your not using a spoil board under the stock? It sounds like it. If you do the above that should stop the blowout and allow you to get the depth you want so in this case a through cut/hole.

Is the feed speed of 50mm/min the plunge speed or the speed your moving to the next hole? It sounds like the hand drill is spinning the bit to fast.

Fitting the router would be the better option I would think, you could then (hopfully) setup the correct rpm for that size bit, if your doing drilling like that then a nice sharp slot drill would serve you well, however what you should probably be doing is something called peck drilling, this is where you drill down into the hole 1 or 2mm a time, rasing back out of the hole after each plunge/cut, this helps to clear the chips, keep the cutter cool and do the drilling in a nice controlled way.