PDA

View Full Version : Ignoring tool change



dudz
15-02-2014, 12:41 PM
Using Cambam and Mach3.

After writing a program in Cambam with different tool sizes, then continuing to Mach3, the machine doesn't stop to let me manually change tools. I unchecked the "ignore tool change" in Mach3 but no difference.

m_c
15-02-2014, 01:06 PM
What do you mean unchecked the ignore tool change?

It's a button list in the General Config... where you can select Ignore Tool Change, Stop Spindle Wait for Cycle Start, or AutoTool Changer (which then invokes the tool change scripts).

dudz
15-02-2014, 01:58 PM
What do you mean unchecked the ignore tool change?

It's a button list in the General Config... where you can select Ignore Tool Change, Stop Spindle Wait for Cycle Start, or AutoTool Changer (which then invokes the tool change scripts).


Ok Thanks, I tend to forget stuff like this !

Another thing I am getting problems with ; I design a job in Cambam with a cutting pass of 1.5mm. Then in mach3 I set the zero in Z axis and start the Job. The Z plunges straight through my material much more than 1.5mm.... like it completely ignores the data in cambam. This doesn't happen all the time, but quite often.

m_c
15-02-2014, 02:56 PM
Have you checked to see if the produced G-Code has the correct Z depth?

dudz
15-02-2014, 04:26 PM
Yes. I sorted now. Its something to do with offsets . Its strange because I haven't used anything other that G54 for ages. Anyway, I went though it all and managed to correct it.

Ger21
15-02-2014, 05:22 PM
Offsets should have nothing to do with tool changes being ignored.

dudz
15-02-2014, 05:34 PM
Offsets should have nothing to do with tool changes being ignored.

No it hasn't, well done lol