PDA

View Full Version : Got a quote for £7k can I make it for £500?

Gtee87
21-02-2014, 02:03 PM
Hi first time poster here.

I'm looking to create a new business this business involves cutting small pieces of cardboard around 3 and 7 mm thick into complex shapes.

I have a very modest budget of £500 I recovered a quote from a company staying that £500 wouldn't even cover the cost of the software and that £7k is a more realistic budget.

I really want to start this company but I have no chance if the CNC machine is going to cost anywhere near £7k.

I am a marine engineer to trade and don't mind making this a DIY project I just want to know if it can be done for my tiny budget ?.

Thanks

gavztheouch
21-02-2014, 02:35 PM
Hi welcome to the forum,

Do you have a sample pic of the type of cutting you wish to achieve.

Have you heard of maker spaces or fab labs, this might be a good way of accessing/(hiring time on) machines at a low cost to see if your bussiness is viable. This way you can also try out different machines to see what you might want to buy or build. There is a big variety of machines out there, laser cutters, 3d printers, routers, mills, etc

Gtee87
21-02-2014, 02:52 PM
Hi welcome to the forum,

Do you have a sample pic of the type of cutting you wish to achieve.

Have you heard of maker spaces or fab labs, this might be a good way of accessing/(hiring time on) machines at a low cost to see if your bussiness is viable. This way you can also try out different machines to see what you might want to buy or build. There is a big variety of machines out there, laser cutters, 3d printers, routers, mills, etc

Hi Gav

thanks for the quick reply , I don't have any pics as of yet was hoping to try and prototype with my own personal machine , basically its cardboard cut outs got nurseries and stuff so little teddy bears, guitars that sort of thing , maybe even some 3d creations with cardboard.

i saw this video http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=P8jbtRTV6uw