PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Another Newbie

Pintglass
19-03-2014, 10:11 PM
Hi everyone

Just joined the forums as this looks a great place for advice, im a joiner by trade but my cnc will be mainly hobby use, i've no experience in cnc only what i've been reading over the last few months.

The machine will be in my garage at home so i don't want to go to big plus by the sounds of things its best to start small anyway. I was thinking of a machine with a cutting capacity of about 900 for X 700 for Y and about 150 for Z.

This brings me to my first question is it best to buy the ball screws first then design the machine around there sizes, i've been looking on eBay at the sets from China they seem quite cheep are the OK or best avoided.

The only other question i have for now is have other people bought from china and if so do you have to pay vat and import duty's.

Regards Pintglass

EddyCurrent
20-03-2014, 02:48 PM
I designed the machine on Sketchup which enabled me to determine the lengths for the ball screws and rails but I did not start to build until they arrived because then, as you say, I built the machine around them. Having sad that the items arrived exactly as I ordered. You could therefore buy a generic set from ebay and design the machine around those.
Yes I paid VAT and import duty on the amount I was invoiced for, the bill came from the courier in this country.

JAZZCNC
20-03-2014, 06:39 PM
No you don't pay import duty from China on ballscrews or rails.? You pay VAT and shipping admin fee which is any where from £10-20 depending on who shipped it.

Both ways works but designing in CAD is much better IMO as it will highlight any clash of components or nasty surprises down the road. It also gives you something to referance from, Just don't go silly on design taking it to emph degree.
Just the major parts need designing, so main Frame, Gantry, Screw placement/mouning etc and esp the Z axis.!. . . Then get on with building.!