PDA

View Full Version : Tool changer needs 100 PSI my compressor is not up to it, anyone know a good one?



suesi34e
26-03-2014, 07:55 PM
Evening all,

As the title suggests my tool changer needs 100 PSI. My 50 liter compressordrops way below that before it kicks in to build up. My question is does anyoneknow of a compressor that I could set to kick in at a 100 PSI and that willcope with that? One not costing silly money would be great too! I am lookingfor a new one really so it has a warranty if it goes bang.

Hope some of you guys that know your compressors can help!

Many thanks

Suesi

IanParkin
26-03-2014, 08:00 PM
Generally you can set the differential on the pressure switch to kick in and switch off where you wish

Ian

suesi34e
26-03-2014, 08:24 PM
Hi Ian,
Thank you for your reply. I thought you could set the pressure where needed but I think I have set it as high as I can. I think it only goes upto 120 PSI.
Many thanks for your msg all the same
Suesi

IanParkin
26-03-2014, 08:29 PM
There is generally a kick in pressure adjuster so it would start at say 100 psi and switch off at 120 psi.
without a picture of your pressure switch its hard to say where it is
post a pic if you can?
Ian

suesi34e
26-03-2014, 09:40 PM
1192211923Hi Ian, I hope these pics tell you something. It would begreat if the compressor could be set to kick in when it drops to 100 PSI andstill manage with the demand.
Many thanks
Suesi

IanParkin
26-03-2014, 09:53 PM
If you take off the cover ( with the red start stop button on top) you should see 2 screws to adjust.... ones max pressure (Stop ) the other to set the start pressure ....try to download a manual from a clarke machine very similar switches on their machines
instructions may be printed inside the cover

suesi34e
26-03-2014, 10:17 PM
Many thanks for that Ian, I will have a go and see how I do.

All the best and thanks

Suesi

m_c
26-03-2014, 11:24 PM
You might find it only has one adjusting screw. I know mine only has one, as I wanted to have it cut out a lower pressure for when using the sandblaster, however the cut-in pressure wasn't adjustable and was a consistent 2.5-3bar lower than the cut-out pressure.
Are you definetly sure your toolchanger needs 100psi?
Any I've looked at are usually around 80psi.

My long term solution is a hydrovane compressor which I still need to get plumbed in, and I'd like to build some kind of control panel so I can set pressures depending on what I'm doing.

suesi34e
26-03-2014, 11:36 PM
Many thank m_c for the reply. Yes seems a lot I know butI am sure the tool changer should have a 100 PSI it has a sticker on themachine you see by the dial and I checked in the manual. If it is not obviousto me what I have when I take the plastic piece of I will post a photo. I wishI had you knowledge of building a control panel and I would not know how towork one if I had one let alone build one. I will Google hydrovane compressor.Perhaps you would keep any eye out for the photo if I get stuck!

Many thanks

Suesi

m_c
27-03-2014, 12:16 AM
Have you tried running it on lower pressure?
Usually the supply will immediately go through a regulator once inside the machine, so there may well be a margin of safety around what's written as the required pressure.

Keeping a conventional compressor above 100psi can be fairly challenging. First thing is to check the pressure switch to see if the cut-in pressure can be increased.
If it's not, then the cheapest option is probably a new combined starter/pressure switch (they're not just a basic pressure switch, as they need to unload the compressor when stopped) with the required adjustability. I've just checked the ones listed in the Machine Mart catalogue, but there's no mention on whether the cut-in pressure can be changed, and I can't find any manual for them.

suesi34e
27-03-2014, 01:40 PM
119281192911927
Hi m_c, thank you for the reply. I am reluctant to try ata lower pressure as when I did use at lower pressure about 80 PSI there wereproblems and I am told from the chap who converted my mill that lower pressurecan cause problems. Here are some photos from under the plastic case. When I amlooking at new compressors none that I have seen mention what you can set theminimum pressure at!
Many thanks for any help anyone can give.
Suesi

IanParkin
27-03-2014, 03:37 PM
Suesi
look at this switch
Condor MDR1 Compressor Pressure Switch - Next Day from Airlines-Pneumatics (http://www.airlines-pneumatics.co.uk/product.asp?ProductCode=S020122)

I've had a look at all my compressors and they all have adjustable differentials fitted
but they all british made quality compressors

I really cant see from your photos what they have can you take some in focus?

The top bolt head adjusts the pressure have you increased that?
it may go up to 140 psi safely then your kick in pressure may be raised to keep you over your desired 100 psi

your tank is rated for 150 psi certainly though check on the ratings plate

IanParkin
27-03-2014, 03:41 PM
and this page

Selecting and Replacing an Air Compressor Pressure Switch (http://compressorguide.hubpages.com/hub/Selecting-and-Replacing-an-Air-Compressor-Pressure-Switch)

m_c
27-03-2014, 04:35 PM
Ian, personally I wouldn't recommend raising the maximum pressure beyond the preset pressure on these compressors, as they'll struggle to reach a higher pressure. They often struggle to reach the set maximum pressure, let alone anything higher!

By the looks of it, that MDR kit you link to, combined with the differential kit should do the job nicely for Suesi.
Set it for 7bar cut-in, and you should be able to set the cut-out for not much more, that way the compressor isn't having to reach too high a pressure before cutting out. You probably don't want the cut-in pressure too near the cut-out pressure though, otherwise the compressor will be continually starting/stopping.

suesi34e
27-03-2014, 05:20 PM
Hi Ian, yes my mate tried to increase the pressure but it has not got it to kick in right. I am reluctant to try doing that further due to fear of making hard work for the compressor as m_c mentions. I think perhaps it would be a good idea to go the part you gave a link for. Sorry the pictures were not great I see what you mean when I looked at them again! Many thanks for your help and the link and I think I may go down that road. Suesi

suesi34e
27-03-2014, 05:23 PM
Hi m_c many thanks for your thoughts and I appreciate the help. What you have said make a lot of sense and as I said I think I may buy the kit Ian has given a link for.
All the best Suesi

EddyCurrent
27-03-2014, 09:26 PM
Evening all,

For a minute there I though it was Dixon of Dock Green, oops showing my age here :hysterical: