PDA

View Full Version : Steppers for Converting Sieg X2 to CNC?

Cret
31-03-2014, 07:53 PM
Hi guys

I've got a bunch of Nema 23 steppers and am wondering if anyone can clarify if they'd be suitable for using to convert my machine to CNC. I know it's Nema 23 I need, but not certain of what spec I can use.

The labelling on them is:

kh56km2u004b
DC 1.6v 2.1A 1.8degree/step
AX050158A/G5641921
No 4Y01
Japan Servo Co Ltd

Was thinking about these drivers/breakout board, then obviously would need a suitable power supply too:
3 Axis DIY CNC Kit for Nema17 Nema23 Nema34 Motor TB6600HG Stepper Drivers 5A | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/351033591753?ssPageName=STRK:MESINDXX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1436.l2649)
Appreciate any advice on this as I'm new to the world of CNC but have these steppers that were given to me (with assorted other ones) and would like to use them if possible to keep costs as low as I can.

Thanks
Jim

JohnHaine
31-03-2014, 08:06 PM
My little Denford Novamill uses nema 23 steppers of about this rating on x and y but has a bigger nema 34 on Z. As the x3 is a significantly bigger mill I suspect the size 23 you have will be a bit underpowered for x and y and definitely for z!

JohnHaine
31-03-2014, 08:08 PM
Oops, sorry just realised you said x2! That might be better, really you need to measure what torque you need to turn the screws and make sure your motors can deliver it. Would need less if you fitted ball screws.

JohnHaine
31-03-2014, 08:11 PM
And I bought a similar set of drivers and BoB from eBay and it works just fine.

Cret
31-03-2014, 08:13 PM
Thanks - I've not managed to find the spec on these steppers yet unfortunately so it's hard to compare to builds others have done.

People seem to suggest anything from 270-425oz for the X2, but the lower end would be fine for me to get started since I got these free. I'd only ever be doing light work and speed doesn't bother me for now.