PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Im new, am a 3D designer. Need a New cnc machine and need advice and guidance

FlyHighRC
03-06-2014, 03:31 AM
Hello, My name is Mike and im 20 years old. I have been using Solidworks for a few years and have become quite fluent with the software. I am keen to turn some of the parts I design(mainly Rc related) into life by the use of a CNC. I understand the concept and have sent Dxf and Stl files to companies to have parts cut and printed for me but would like my own CNC.

Could any of you folk out there point me in the right direction for a CNC.

Basic requirements

1) Be able to cut woods,plastic,carbon& glass fibers, Aluminium
2) be easy to assemble if required,easy to setup
3) cost less than £1200 for machine including electronics. ( CAM and Mach3 already acquired)

it would be a rel help :)

mekanik
03-06-2014, 11:11 AM
Hi Mike
Welcome to the forum.
If you let us know the size of components you intend to produce, our more knowledgeable members will point you in the right direction, a lot tend to build there own as you can end up with a good machine for a lot less cash than some of the commercial stuff that's available.
Regards
Mike

dazza
03-06-2014, 11:11 AM
hello mike
there is nothing off the shelf that I know of within 1200 quid range other than these Chinese 6040 machines that are all over ebay

FlyHighRC
03-06-2014, 11:22 AM
im thinking something along the lines of 600x600x100mm working area... Could you guys fill me in on what you reckon is best of these which I have found so far.

CNC1 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-Milling-Router-Engraver-Cutter-Mill-Machine-Kit-24-x24-Limited-Time-Sale/261493058990?_trksid=p2047675.c100011.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222006%26algo%3DSIC.FITP%26ao%3D1% 26asc%3D23309%26meid%3D7352093127171621177%26pid%3 D100011%26prg%3D9834%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D10%26sd%3D26 1480571805)- I have seen videos of this machine with good results gutting aluminium