PDA

View Full Version : Problem Solving Your Laser Machine - post here



Want2build1
01-07-2014, 05:38 PM
Help ! laser is not firing ..


The message I sent to the seller ....





It was cutting, and it stopped.


There is no output from the laser tube.


The water pump is running , water temp 19 Degrees Celcius


the X and Y axis move ok, but the laser does not fire.


The test button on the Laser PSU does nothing.
The pulse button on the keypad does nothing
The water flow light is ok on the controller


Please help !


.......



Soooo ... any of you had anything similar and solved it ?
How do I test the Laser PSU ?
Is there any way to test the tube ?

TIA

Rich :)

Want2build1
02-07-2014, 10:35 AM
Well, to their credit so far, the supplier has been quick to respond.

Some help on interpreting would be useful before I try what they suggest ! ....

Are they suggesting I wire up a stick and see if it sparks ? lol

____________


Dear freind,
Thanks for your messaage
I am sorry for this unhappiness it caused to you, as the problem my suppliers said that is tube broken bc.
In this case, Firstly, please apart the laser tube from both side, and then you use a 3mm-5mm wood stick to connect the 2 wires. after that, please press the red button on the power supplys.If you can see the Ignition phenomenon, the problem is the laser tube.But if no Ignition phenomenon, then it will be power supplys problem.
Please get me back to know the result and then we can service you better, ok?
Please don't worry, we are always here to try my best to solve the problem for you.
Awaiting for your reply
Best regards

Michaela Veit

Isaac
02-07-2014, 10:52 AM
Do you have any safety switches on the lid? If they fail the laser wont fire. Try bridging it(but still close he lid and see what happens.

Want2build1
02-07-2014, 10:57 AM
no safety on this one !

Want2build1
02-07-2014, 05:20 PM
I'm interested in any ideas as to the test request above ?

I know electronics

I don't know the voltages involved with laser PSU's .. Will (google in a bit)
I almost seems as though they want me to wire up a thin piece of wood and see if I get an "Ignition Phenomenon"

I have a multi meter (1000v)... and lots of different value resistors .. could I rig up a quick test circuit to test if the laser PSU has an output ?

Clive S
02-07-2014, 06:00 PM
I'm interested in any ideas as to the test request above ?

I know electronics

I don't know the voltages involved with laser PSU's .. Will (google in a bit)
I almost seems as though they want me to wire up a thin piece of wood and see if I get an "Ignition Phenomenon"

I have a multi meter (1000v)... and lots of different value resistors .. could I rig up a quick test circuit to test if the laser PSU has an output ?
Have a look at this:- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qz6J4Rs7VCw The voltage you are playing with is about 10Kv 10,000V So yes they are asking you to put a piece of wood in to see if it burns up:tan: ..Clive

Want2build1
03-07-2014, 02:25 PM
ah !
It seems they sent me a wrong link to a video .. it just showed the machine cutting a smiley face !

After some google translate'ing and searching I found this ...

http://v.qq.com/boke/page/t/0/9/t013170ath9.html
(You have to watch the ad' 1st)

I shall test and let them know the result :)

Isaac
03-07-2014, 06:41 PM
I thought they wanted you to use a piece of wood to push the wires together to short them and see if they spark. It's an amazing spark and pretty loud but not something I would do voluntarily.

I would examine other parts of the system first such as the enable laser button to make sure its working and the connections are solid.

Want2build1
03-07-2014, 08:14 PM
ok , just finishing for tonight. rigged up the test as in the vid .. nothing

Does the test button on the PSU bypass all the safety features, like the water pump ?
I'll double check all the wiring in the morning, and try again

Isaac
03-07-2014, 08:18 PM
No, test button needs the other safety features to work :)

Want2build1
03-07-2014, 08:56 PM
No, test button needs the other safety features to work :)

Ta .. I'll check the pin out diag on the controller and see if they should be high or low :)