PDA

View Full Version : How to get panels into VCarve Pro 7.5

calibanman
21-08-2014, 12:42 PM
Help.......Could someone please help me with a problem that I have.

I work for a firm that fits panels made out of plywood to the inside of vans (ply lining).

We have just acquired a CNC machine and I have been given the job of getting the templates that we have made of plywood panels into VCarve Pro 7.5. I have tried taking photographs of the panels and using the trace option and also drawing free hand. Is measuring the panels my only option left? The trouble with that option is that most of the panels are made up of irregular, complex shapes and are not easy to measure, if at all giving my lack of geometry skills.

Thanks for any help received , however small, as I am a complete novice at this.

The machine is a Spartan 1325 from Radecal. :grumpy:

Blackrat
21-08-2014, 06:59 PM
I have tried taking photographs of the panels and using the trace option and also drawing free hand.

why doesnt this method work ?

EddyCurrent
21-08-2014, 07:05 PM
You need some CAD software ideally, such as Sketchup or there are others. As it's just flat sheets it should be very easy to draw up. I think VCarve Pro does include CAD facilities so you may be able to draw your panels just using that software.
Sorry to sound harsh, but it's similar to what someone said here recently, if you struggle to measure up and draw some flat panels you might need to think twice about using a CNC machine.

There's a list of software here that may have something you could use for CAD; http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/6707-List-of-CAD-CAM-Software

Here's a video of someone drawing gears using VCarve Pro;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CUounvB-xg

gorbo
21-08-2014, 09:15 PM
I would go for the trace way but you need datum points to keep scale of the piece, trace function works best with clear defined edges to work to try using black and white photos

EddyCurrent
21-08-2014, 10:01 PM